Energy
middle half173 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 147 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 126–174 kcal
Based on 60 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 431 calories for 1 cup (249 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Beef and noodles with soy-based sauce
Quick facts
1 cup · 249 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 249 g
431calories
Beef and noodles with soy-based sauce
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 431 calories for 1 cup at 249 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 173 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 32.9 g protein, 1.5 g fiber, and 680 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beef, round, top round steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, broiled, representing 37% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 9 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706488: “Beef and noodles with soy-based sauce.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706488, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 186.8 g | 323 kcal | 24.7 g | 1.1 g | 510 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 249 g | 431 kcal | 32.9 g | 1.5 g | 680 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 311.3 g | 538 kcal | 41.1 g | 1.9 g | 850 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 60 exact records in the Stir-fry and soy-based sauce mixtures USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706488’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half173 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 60 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter13.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 60 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 60 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half273 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 60 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706488’s 249 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron3 mg
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Potassium428 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium680 mg
≈ 30% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat5.5 g
≈ 28% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Beef and noodles with soy-based sauce,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706386 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 186.8–311.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 323 kcal and 538 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.2 g more carbohydrate than “Beef with soy-based sauce.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 9 input rows; Beef, round, top round steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, broiled supplies 37% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Beef and noodles with soy-based sauce” fits. Inspect FDC 2706386 when the exact wording “Beef with soy-based sauce” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBeef and noodles with soy-based sauce | 249 g431 kcal | 173 kcal | 13.2 g | 10 g | 0.6 g | 273 mg |
| Beef with soy-based sauce | 183 g342 kcal | 187 kcal | 15.9 g | 12.4 g | 0.5 g | 333 mg |
| Beef and rice with soy-based sauce | 244 g434 kcal | 178 kcal | 13.6 g | 10.3 g | 0.5 g | 275 mg |
| Shrimp and noodles with soy-based sauce | 224 g316 kcal | 141 kcal | 10.2 g | 7.3 g | 0.6 g | 276 mg |
| Chicken or turkey and noodles with soy-based sauce | 224 g352 kcal | 157 kcal | 11.6 g | 9 g | 0.6 g | 391 mg |
| Pork or ham with soy-based sauce | 183 g348 kcal | 190 kcal | 14.9 g | 12.7 g | 0.5 g | 341 mg |
| Pork and watercress with soy-based sauce | 121 g230 kcal | 190 kcal | 14.9 g | 12.7 g | 0.5 g | 341 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706488: its source amount is 249 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706488, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
431 kcal
249 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706488, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
24.9 g≈ 32% Daily ValueSodium
679.8 mg≈ 30% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706488’s 249 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706488 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 32.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706488 at 249 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 249 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 431 kcal 173 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 32.9 g 13.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 18.8 g 7.5 g | 7% 3% |
| Total fat | 24.9 g 10 g | 32% 13% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.5 g 0.6 g | 5% 2% |
| Sugars | 2.1 g 0.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 679.8 mg 273 mg | 30% 12% |
| Saturated fat | 5.5 g 2.2 g | 28% 11% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 10.6 g 4.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 6.6 g 2.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 87.2 mg 35 mg | 29% 12% |
| Potassium | 428.3 mg 172 mg | 9% 4% |
| Calcium | 39.8 mg 16 mg | 3% 1% |
| Iron | 3.1 mg 1.3 mg | 17% 7% |
| Magnesium | 37.4 mg 15 mg | 9% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 4.5 mg 1.8 mg | 5% 2% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 5 µg 2 µg | 1% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 169.3 g 68 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706488, approximate percentages divide the displayed 249 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706488 to 9 source inputs totaling 920 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Beef and noodles with soy-based sauce” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beef, round, top round steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, broiled, Rice noodles, cooked, Onions, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
920 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Beef, round, top round steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, broiledUSDA ingredient 13893 · encyclopedia page available | 0.75 LB | 340.2 g | 37% |
| 2 | Rice noodles, cookedUSDA ingredient 20134 · encyclopedia page available | 176 GM | 176 g | 19.1% |
| 3 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 0.25 C | 56 g | 6.1% |
| 4 | Soy sauce made from soy and wheat (shoyu)USDA ingredient 16123 · encyclopedia page available | 31.9 GM | 31.9 g | 3.5% |
| 5 | Garlic, rawUSDA ingredient 11215 · encyclopedia page available | 2 TB | 16.9 g | 1.8% |
| 6 | Ginger root, rawUSDA ingredient 11216 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TB | 6 g | 0.7% |
| 7 | Onions, cooked, boiled, drained, without saltUSDA ingredient 11283 · encyclopedia page available | 1 | 125 g | 13.6% |
| 8 | Onions, spring or scallions (includes tops and bulb), rawUSDA ingredient 11291 · encyclopedia page available | 48 GM | 48 g | 5.2% |
| 9 | Soup, beef broth or bouillon canned, ready-to-serveUSDA ingredient 6008 · encyclopedia page available | 120 GM | 120 g | 13% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706488, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Stir-fry and soy-based sauce mixtures” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 173 kcal | 187 kcal | −14 kcal |
| Protein | 13.2 g | 15.9 g | −2.7 g |
| Carbohydrate | 7.5 g | 3.4 g | +4.2 g |
| Total fat | 10 g | 12.4 g | −2.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.6 g | 0.5 g | +0.1 g |
| Sodium | 273 mg | 333 mg | −60 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 14 less calories, 2.7 g less protein, and 4.2 g more carbohydrate than “Beef with soy-based sauce.”
Only this record lists Rice noodles, cooked. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Beef, round, top round steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, broiled; Vegetable oil, NFS; Soy sauce made from soy and wheat (shoyu); Garlic, raw; and 4 more.
Listed only in this record: Rice noodles, cooked.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 249 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (249 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 183 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (244 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706488 with FDC 2706386 at equal mass; use their 249 g and 183 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706488 versus FDC 2706386 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full stir-fry and soy-based sauce mixtures source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, recipe and ingredient ratios, added cooking fat, sauces and toppings.
For “Beef and noodles with soy-based sauce,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706488 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 173 kcal per 100 g becomes 431 kcal at 249 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706488
FNDDS food code: 27212500
The scaling for FDC 2706488 can be exact while the match to “Beef and noodles with soy-based sauce” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 249 g weight, 9-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.