Energy
upper quarter181 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 133 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 122–156 kcal
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 436 calories for 1 cup (241 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Chicken or turkey a la king with vegetables excluding carrorts, broccoli, and dark-green leafy; no potatoes, cream, white, or soup-based sauce
Quick facts
1 cup · 241 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 241 g
436calories
Chicken or turkey a la king with vegetables excluding carrorts, broccoli, and dark-green leafy; no potatoes, cream, white, or soup-based sauce
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 436 calories for 1 cup at 241 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 181 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 23.1 g protein, 1.2 g fiber, and 1,162 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, ns as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten, representing 22.8% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 10 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706788: “Chicken or turkey a la king with vegetables excluding carrorts, broccoli, and dark-green leafy; no potatoes, cream, white, or soup-based sauce.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706788, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 180.8 g | 327 kcal | 17.3 g | 0.9 g | 871 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 241 g | 436 kcal | 23.1 g | 1.2 g | 1,162 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 301.3 g | 545 kcal | 28.8 g | 1.5 g | 1,452 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 130 exact records in the Poultry mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706788’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter181 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half9.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter482 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706788’s 241 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A262.7 µg
≈ 29% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium145 mg
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat10.2 g
≈ 51% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium1,162 mg
≈ 51% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chicken or turkey a la king with vegetables excluding carrorts, broccoli…,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706787 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 180.8–301.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 327 kcal and 545 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 54 mg more sodium than “Chicken or turkey a la king with vegetables including carrots, broccoli, and/or dark-green leafy; no potatoes, cream, white, or soup-based sauce.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 10 input rows; Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten supplies 22.8% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “broccoli; and dark-green leafy; no potatoes; cream” fits. Inspect FDC 2706787 when “broccoli; and/or dark-green leafy; no potatoes; cream” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “broccoli”, “and dark-green leafy; no potatoes”, “cream”, and “white”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
How to compare FDC 2706788: its source amount is 241 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706788, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
436 kcal
241 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706788, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
185.6 mg≈ 62% Daily ValueSaturated fat
10.2 g≈ 51% Daily ValueSodium
1,161.6 mg≈ 51% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706788’s 241 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706788 at 241 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 241 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 436 kcal 181 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 23.1 g 9.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 15.2 g 6.3 g | 6% 2% |
| Total fat | 32.1 g 13.3 g | 41% 17% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g 0.5 g | 4% 2% |
| Sugars | 5.9 g 2.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 1,161.6 mg 482 mg | 51% 21% |
| Saturated fat | 10.2 g 4.2 g | 51% 21% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 12.4 g 5.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 6 g 2.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 185.6 mg 77 mg | 62% 26% |
| Potassium | 414.5 mg 172 mg | 9% 4% |
| Calcium | 144.6 mg 60 mg | 11% 5% |
| Iron | 1.7 mg 0.7 mg | 9% 4% |
| Magnesium | 33.7 mg 14 mg | 8% 3% |
| Vitamin C | 4.8 mg 2 mg | 5% 2% |
| Vitamin D | 1.7 µg 0.7 µg | 8% 3% |
| Vitamin A | 262.7 µg 109 µg | 29% 12% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 166.8 g 69.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706788, approximate percentages divide the displayed 241 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706788 to 10 source inputs totaling 593 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken or turkey a la king with vegetables excluding carrorts, broccoli, and dark-green…” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten, Milk, nonfat, fluid, without added vitamin A and vitamin D (fat free or skim), Cream, fluid, light (coffee cream or table cream). The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
593 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eatenUSDA ingredient 24102070 · encyclopedia page available | 135 GM | 135 g | 22.8% |
| 2 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg yolkUSDA ingredient 1125 · encyclopedia page available | 17 GM | 17 g | 2.9% |
| 3 | Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available | 3 TB | 23.4 g | 4% |
| 4 | Mushrooms, canned, drained solidsUSDA ingredient 11264 · encyclopedia page available | 78 GM | 78 g | 13.2% |
| 5 | Pimento, cannedUSDA ingredient 11943 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TB | 12 g | 2% |
| 6 | Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serveUSDA ingredient 6194 · encyclopedia page available | 0.17 C | 40.1 g | 6.8% |
| 7 | Milk, nonfat, fluid, without added vitamin A and vitamin D (fat free or skim)USDA ingredient 1151 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 C | 122.5 g | 20.7% |
| 8 | Cream, fluid, light (coffee cream or table cream)USDA ingredient 1050 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 C | 120 g | 20.2% |
| 9 | Margarine, stickUSDA ingredient 81102010 · encyclopedia page available | 3 TB | 42 g | 7.1% |
| 10 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 TS | 3 g | 0.5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706788, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Poultry mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 181 kcal | 187 kcal | −6 kcal |
| Protein | 9.6 g | 9.4 g | +0.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 6.3 g | 6.8 g | −0.5 g |
| Total fat | 13.3 g | 13.8 g | −0.5 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.5 g | 0.6 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 482 mg | 428 mg | +54 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 54 mg more sodium than “Chicken or turkey a la king with vegetables including carrots, broccoli, and/or dark-green….”
Only this record lists Mushrooms, canned, drained solids; Milk, nonfat, fluid, without added vitamin A and vitamin D (fat free or skim). Only the comparison record lists Carrots, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt; Milk, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg yolk; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Pimento, canned; and 4 more.
Listed only in this record: Mushrooms, canned, drained solids; Milk, nonfat, fluid, without added vitamin A and vitamin D (fat free or skim).
Listed only in the comparison: Carrots, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt; Milk, NFS.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 241 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (241 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 241 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (241 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706788 with FDC 2706787 at equal mass; use their 241 g and 241 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706788 versus FDC 2706787 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full poultry mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Chicken or turkey a la king with vegetables excluding carrorts, broccoli, and dark-green…,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706788 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 181 kcal per 100 g becomes 436 kcal at 241 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Exact USDA description: Chicken or turkey a la king with vegetables excluding carrorts, broccoli, and dark-green leafy; no potatoes, cream, white, or soup-based sauce
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706788
FNDDS food code: 27443120
The scaling for FDC 2706788 can be exact while the match to “Chicken or turkey a la king with vegetables excluding carrorts, broccoli, and dark-green leafy; no potatoes, cream, white, or soup-based sauce” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 241 g weight, 10-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.