Energy
lower quarter63 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 133 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 122–156 kcal
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 196 calories for 1 salad (311 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Chicken or turkey caesar garden salad, chicken and/or turkey, lettuce, tomato, cheese, no dressing
Quick facts
1 salad · 311 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 McDonald's salad · 311 g
196calories
Chicken or turkey caesar garden salad, chicken and/or turkey, lettuce, tomato, cheese, no dressing
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 196 calories for 1 salad at 311 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 63 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 26.5 g protein, 3.1 g fiber, and 824 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is mixed salad greens, raw, representing 55.8% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 5 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 salad at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 57–196 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706818: “Chicken or turkey caesar garden salad, chicken and/or turkey, lettuce, tomato, cheese, no dressing.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706818, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cup” through “1 McDonald's salad” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 90 g | 57 kcal | 7.7 g | 0.9 g | 239 mg |
| 1 Wendy's saladUSDA-listed household measure | 261 g | 164 kcal | 22.2 g | 2.6 g | 692 mg |
| 1 McDonald's saladUSDA-listed household measure | 311 g | 196 kcal | 26.5 g | 3.1 g | 824 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 130 exact records in the Poultry mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2706818’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter63 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half8.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter265 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706818’s 311 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A566 µg
≈ 63% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin C27 mg
≈ 30% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium824 mg
≈ 36% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.3 g
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chicken or turkey caesar garden salad, chicken and/or turkey, lettuce, tomato…,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706819 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 90 g and 311 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 57 kcal to 196 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.9 g less total fat than “Chicken or turkey, breaded, fried, caesar garden salad, chicken and/or turkey, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, no dressing.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 5 input rows; Mixed salad greens, raw supplies 55.8% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “chicken and/or turkey; lettuce; tomato; cheese” fits. Inspect FDC 2706819 when “breaded; fried; caesar garden salad; chicken and/or turkey” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chicken and/or turkey”, “lettuce”, “tomato”, and “cheese”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
How to compare FDC 2706818: its source amount is 311 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706818, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
57 kcal
90 g
180 kcal
286 g
164 kcal
261 g
196 kcal
311 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706818, Vitamin A is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin A
566 µg≈ 63% Daily ValueSodium
824.2 mg≈ 36% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706818’s 311 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706818 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 26.5 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2706818 at 311 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 311 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 196 kcal 63 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 26.5 g 8.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 9.3 g 3 g | 3% 1% |
| Total fat | 6 g 1.9 g | 8% 2% |
| Dietary fiber | 3.1 g 1 g | 11% 4% |
| Sugars | 3.1 g 1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 824.2 mg 265 mg | 36% 12% |
| Saturated fat | 2.3 g 0.8 g | 12% 4% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.8 g 0.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.7 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 71.5 mg 23 mg | 24% 8% |
| Potassium | 901.9 mg 290 mg | 19% 6% |
| Calcium | 174.2 mg 56 mg | 13% 4% |
| Iron | 1.3 mg 0.4 mg | 7% 2% |
| Magnesium | 74.6 mg 24 mg | 18% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 27.4 mg 8.8 mg | 30% 10% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 566 µg 182 µg | 63% 20% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 265.6 g 85.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706818, approximate percentages divide the displayed 311 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706818 to 5 source inputs totaling 295.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken or turkey caesar garden salad, chicken and/or turkey, lettuce, tomato, cheese, no…” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Mixed salad greens, raw, Chicken, broiler, rotisserie, BBQ, breast, meat only, Tomatoes, red, ripe, raw, year round average. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
295.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mixed salad greens, rawUSDA ingredient 75114000 · encyclopedia page available | 165 GM | 165 g | 55.8% |
| 2 | Chicken, broiler, rotisserie, BBQ, breast, meat onlyUSDA ingredient 5000 · encyclopedia page available | 70 GM | 70 g | 23.7% |
| 3 | Tomatoes, red, ripe, raw, year round averageUSDA ingredient 11529 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 16.9% |
| 4 | Cheese, parmesan, gratedUSDA ingredient 1032 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 3.4% |
| 5 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.8 GM | 0.8 g | 0.3% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706818, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Poultry mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 63 kcal | 115 kcal | −52 kcal |
| Protein | 8.5 g | 6.3 g | +2.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 3 g | 7.1 g | −4.1 g |
| Total fat | 1.9 g | 6.9 g | −4.9 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1 g | 1.2 g | −0.2 g |
| Sodium | 265 mg | 247 mg | +18 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 52 less calories, 2.2 g more protein, and 4.1 g less carbohydrate than “Chicken or turkey, breaded, fried, caesar garden salad, chicken and/or turkey, lettuce….”
Only this record lists Chicken, broiler, rotisserie, BBQ, breast, meat only; Salt, table. Only the comparison record lists Fast foods, chicken, breaded and fried, boneless pieces, plain. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Mixed salad greens, raw; Tomatoes, red, ripe, raw, year round average; Cheese, parmesan, grated.
Listed only in this record: Chicken, broiler, rotisserie, BBQ, breast, meat only; Salt, table.
Listed only in the comparison: Fast foods, chicken, breaded and fried, boneless pieces, plain.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 311 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 salad (311 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 314 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 salad (314 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706818 with FDC 2706819 at equal mass; use their 311 g and 314 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706818 versus FDC 2706819 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full poultry mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2706818 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Chicken or turkey caesar garden salad, chicken and/or turkey, lettuce, tomato, cheese, no…” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706818 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Chicken or turkey caesar garden salad, chicken and/or turkey, lettuce, tomato, cheese, no…,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706818 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 63 kcal per 100 g becomes 196 kcal at 311 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 salad has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Exact USDA description: Chicken or turkey caesar garden salad, chicken and/or turkey, lettuce, tomato, cheese, no dressing
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706818
FNDDS food code: 27446360
The scaling for FDC 2706818 can be exact while the match to “Chicken or turkey caesar garden salad, chicken and/or turkey, lettuce, tomato, cheese, no dressing” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 311 g weight, 5-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.