Meat & poultrymoderate variability

Chicken/turkey salad with egg calories: 258 per 113 g

This exact USDA record reports 258 calories for 113 g. That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Chicken or turkey salad with egg

Quick facts

USDA reference amount · 113 g

Calories
258 kcal
Protein
15.6 g
Carbohydrate
3.1 g
Total fat
20.5 g
Fiber
0.5 g
Sodium
512 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 113 g

258calories

Chicken or turkey salad with egg

Protein
15.6 g
Carbs
3.1 g
Fat
20.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706801

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 258 calories for USDA reference amount at 113 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 228 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 15.6 g protein, 0.5 g fiber, and 512 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, ns as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten, representing 46.4% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The reference amount and 1 cup answer different portion questions. Their values are scaled independently from the same per-100-gram source record.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 258–515 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706801: “Chicken or turkey salad with egg.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706801, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 84.8 g 193 kcal 11.7 g 0.3 g 384 mg
USDA reference amountExact record reference weight 113 g 258 kcal 15.6 g 0.5 g 512 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 226 g 515 kcal 31.2 g 0.9 g 1,024 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Poultry mixed dishes

The comparison set contains 130 exact records in the Poultry mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706801’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

228 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
133 kcal
Middle 50%
122–156 kcal

Based on 130 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

13.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.5 g
Middle 50%
6.6–13.6 g

Based on 130 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

0.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.9 g
Middle 50%
0.5–1.2 g

Based on 130 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

453 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
358 mg
Middle 50%
341–454 mg

Based on 130 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706801’s 113 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium512 mg

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat3.7 g

≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Chicken or turkey salad with egg,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706799 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 113 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 84.8–141.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 193 kcal and 322 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2706799

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 31 mg less sodium than “Chicken or turkey salad, made with mayonnaise.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten

    The source formulation has 6 input rows; Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten supplies 46.4% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when the exact wording “Chicken or turkey salad with egg” fits. Inspect FDC 2706799 when “made with mayonnaise” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Chicken or turkey salad with egg

Exact source wording
“Chicken or turkey salad with egg”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706801 · FNDDS 27446220
Source inputs unique in this pair
Egg, whole, cooked, hard-boiled

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Chicken or turkey salad, made with mayonnaise

Exact source wording
“Chicken or turkey salad, made with mayonnaise”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706799 · FNDDS 27446200
Named qualifiers
made with mayonnaise

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordChicken or turkey salad with egg 113 g258 kcal 228 kcal 13.8 g 18.1 g 0.4 g 453 mg
Chicken or turkey salad, made with mayonnaise 113 g266 kcal 235 kcal 13.9 g 18.8 g 0.4 g 484 mg
Chicken or turkey salad with nuts and/or fruits 113 g266 kcal 235 kcal 12.5 g 17.9 g 1 g 391 mg
Chicken or turkey salad, made with creamy dressing 113 g212 kcal 188 kcal 13.8 g 13.1 g 0.4 g 526 mg
Chicken or turkey salad, made with light mayonnaise 113 g165 kcal 146 kcal 13.6 g 8.2 g 0.4 g 529 mg
Chicken or turkey salad, made with Italian dressing 113 g165 kcal 146 kcal 13.6 g 7.8 g 0.4 g 564 mg
Chicken or turkey cacciatore 244 g425 kcal 174 kcal 13.2 g 10.6 g 1.1 g 664 mg

How to compare FDC 2706801: its source amount is 113 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706801, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

515 kcal

226 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706801, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

104 mg≈ 35% Daily Value

Total fat

20.5 g≈ 26% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706801’s 113 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706801 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 15.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706801 at 113 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 512 mg sodium, about 22% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 113 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 258 kcal Not established
Protein 15.6 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 3.1 g 1%
Total fat 20.5 g 26%
Dietary fiber 0.5 g 2%
Sugars 2.3 g Not established
Sodium 511.9 mg 22%
Saturated fat 3.7 g 18%
Monounsaturated Fat 5.4 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 10.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 104 mg 35%
Potassium 226 mg 5%
Calcium 24.9 mg 2%
Iron 0.6 mg 3%
Magnesium 15.8 mg 4%
Vitamin C 0.8 mg 1%
Vitamin D 0.2 µg 1%
Vitamin A 30.5 µg 3%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 72.3 g Not established

For FDC 2706801, approximate percentages divide the displayed 113 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706801 to 6 source inputs totaling 582.1 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken or turkey salad with egg” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

6 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten, Celery, raw, Salad dressing, mayonnaise, regular. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

582.1 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eatenUSDA ingredient 24102070 · encyclopedia page available 270 GM 270 g 46.4%
2 Celery, rawUSDA ingredient 11143 · encyclopedia page available 1 C 120 g 20.6%
3 Salad dressing, mayonnaise, regularUSDA ingredient 4025 · encyclopedia page available 0.5 CP 110 g 18.9%
4 Egg, whole, cooked, hard-boiledUSDA ingredient 1129 · encyclopedia page available 1 50 g 8.6%
5 Pickle relish, sweetUSDA ingredient 11945 · encyclopedia page available 30.6 GM 30.6 g 5.3%
6 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.25 TS 1.5 g 0.3%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706801, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Poultry mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories228 kcal235 kcal−7 kcal
Protein13.8 g13.9 g−0.1 g
Carbohydrate2.7 g2.9 g−0.2 g
Total fat18.1 g18.8 g−0.7 g
Dietary fiber0.4 g0.4 gSame listed value
Sodium453 mg484 mg−31 mg

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Only this record lists Egg, whole, cooked, hard-boiled. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten; Celery, raw; Salad dressing, mayonnaise, regular; Pickle relish, sweet; and 1 more.

Listed only in this record: Egg, whole, cooked, hard-boiled.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 113 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (226 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 113 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (226 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706801 with FDC 2706799 at equal mass; use their 113 g and 113 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706801 versus FDC 2706799 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full poultry mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.

For “Chicken or turkey salad with egg,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cut and fat trim

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, marinade, or sauce

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706801 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 228 kcal per 100 g becomes 258 kcal at 113 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” We display it as a USDA reference amount because it is a database comparison point—not a suggested portion or a claim about what most people should eat.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706801

FNDDS food code: 27446220

The scaling for FDC 2706801 can be exact while the match to “Chicken or turkey salad with egg” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 113 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.