Energy
upper quarter174 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 133 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 122–156 kcal
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 425 calories for 1 cup (244 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Chicken or turkey cacciatore
Quick facts
1 cup · 244 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 244 g
425calories
Chicken or turkey cacciatore
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 425 calories for 1 cup at 244 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 174 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 32.2 g protein, 2.7 g fiber, and 1,620 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, ns as to part, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, representing 51.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 8 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 42–425 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706421: “Chicken or turkey cacciatore.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706421, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 slice of chicken with sauce” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 slice of chicken with sauceUSDA-listed household measure | 24 g | 42 kcal | 3.2 g | 0.3 g | 159 mg |
| 1 slice of turkey with sauceUSDA-listed household measure | 48 g | 84 kcal | 6.3 g | 0.5 g | 319 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 244 g | 425 kcal | 32.2 g | 2.7 g | 1,620 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 130 exact records in the Poultry mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706421’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter174 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half13.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter664 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706421’s 244 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Potassium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Potassium708 mg
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin C13 mg
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium1,620 mg
≈ 70% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat6.3 g
≈ 31% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chicken or turkey cacciatore,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706527 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 24 g and 244 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 42 kcal to 425 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 6.5 g more total fat than “Chicken or turkey hash.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 8 input rows; Chicken, NS as to part, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten supplies 51.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Chicken or turkey cacciatore” fits. Inspect FDC 2706527 when the exact wording “Chicken or turkey hash” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChicken or turkey cacciatore | 244 g425 kcal | 174 kcal | 13.2 g | 10.6 g | 1.1 g | 664 mg |
| Chicken or turkey parmigiana | 209 g364 kcal | 174 kcal | 16.2 g | 8.3 g | 0.8 g | 414 mg |
| Chicken or turkey with stuffing | 200 g344 kcal | 172 kcal | 20 g | 4.9 g | 0.5 g | 454 mg |
| Chicken or turkey souffle | 80 g137 kcal | 171 kcal | 11.7 g | 11.3 g | 0.1 g | 380 mg |
| Chicken or turkey with dumplings | 244 g351 kcal | 144 kcal | 15.7 g | 5.6 g | 0.3 g | 488 mg |
| Chicken or turkey divan | 236 g330 kcal | 140 kcal | 15.5 g | 7.3 g | 1.3 g | 295 mg |
| Chicken or turkey fricassee | 244 g295 kcal | 121 kcal | 10.7 g | 7.2 g | 0.1 g | 418 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706421: its source amount is 244 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706421, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
425 kcal
244 g
294 kcal
169 g
186 kcal
107 g
343 kcal
197 g
157 kcal
90 g
103 kcal
59 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706421, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
1,620.2 mg≈ 70% Daily ValueCholesterol
141.5 mg≈ 47% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706421’s 244 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706421 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 32.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706421 at 244 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 244 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 425 kcal 174 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 32.2 g 13.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 16.9 g 6.9 g | 6% 3% |
| Total fat | 25.9 g 10.6 g | 33% 14% |
| Dietary fiber | 2.7 g 1.1 g | 10% 4% |
| Sugars | 3.9 g 1.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 1,620.2 mg 664 mg | 70% 29% |
| Saturated fat | 6.3 g 2.6 g | 31% 13% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 11.6 g 4.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 5.8 g 2.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 141.5 mg 58 mg | 47% 19% |
| Potassium | 707.6 mg 290 mg | 15% 6% |
| Calcium | 102.5 mg 42 mg | 8% 3% |
| Iron | 2.5 mg 1 mg | 14% 6% |
| Magnesium | 51.2 mg 21 mg | 12% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 13.2 mg 5.4 mg | 15% 6% |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 43.9 µg 18 µg | 5% 2% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 162.7 g 66.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706421, approximate percentages divide the displayed 244 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706421 to 8 source inputs totaling 1,729.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken or turkey cacciatore” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken, NS as to part, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten, Tomatoes, red, ripe, canned, packed in tomato juice, Tomato products, canned, puree, without salt added. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
1,729.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chicken, NS as to part, fried, coated, skin / coating eatenUSDA ingredient 24107070 | 890 GM | 890 g | 51.5% |
| 2 | Garlic, rawUSDA ingredient 11215 · encyclopedia page available | 3 | 9 g | 0.5% |
| 3 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 2 TB | 28 g | 1.6% |
| 4 | Tomato products, canned, puree, without salt addedUSDA ingredient 11547 · encyclopedia page available | 1 C | 250 g | 14.5% |
| 5 | Tomatoes, red, ripe, canned, packed in tomato juiceUSDA ingredient 11531 · encyclopedia page available | 2 C | 480 g | 27.8% |
| 6 | Spices, oregano, driedUSDA ingredient 2027 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TS | 1.5 g | 0.1% |
| 7 | Soup, chicken broth, less/reduced sodium, ready to serveUSDA ingredient 6183 | 62 GM | 62 g | 3.6% |
| 8 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1.5 TS | 9 g | 0.5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706421, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Poultry mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 174 kcal | 110 kcal | +64 kcal |
| Protein | 13.2 g | 9.6 g | +3.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 6.9 g | 8.3 g | −1.4 g |
| Total fat | 10.6 g | 4.1 g | +6.5 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.1 g | 1.3 g | −0.2 g |
| Sodium | 664 mg | 259 mg | +405 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 64 more calories, 3.6 g more protein, and 6.5 g more total fat than “Chicken or turkey hash.”
Only this record lists Chicken, NS as to part, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten; Garlic, raw; Tomato products, canned, puree, without salt added; Tomatoes, red, ripe, canned, packed in tomato juice. Only the comparison record lists Turkey, whole, meat only, cooked, roasted; Celery, raw; Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt; Onions, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Chicken, NS as to part, fried, coated, skin / coating eaten; Garlic, raw; Tomato products, canned, puree, without salt added; Tomatoes, red, ripe, canned, packed in tomato juice; and 2 more.
Listed only in the comparison: Turkey, whole, meat only, cooked, roasted; Celery, raw; Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt; Onions, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 244 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (244 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 190 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (190 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706421 with FDC 2706527 at equal mass; use their 244 g and 190 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706421 versus FDC 2706527 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full poultry mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Chicken or turkey cacciatore,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706421 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 174 kcal per 100 g becomes 425 kcal at 244 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706421
FNDDS food code: 27141000
The scaling for FDC 2706421 can be exact while the match to “Chicken or turkey cacciatore” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 244 g weight, 8-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.