Energy
upper quarter174 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 133 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 122–156 kcal
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 364 calories for 1 cup (209 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Chicken or turkey parmigiana
Quick facts
1 cup · 209 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 209 g
364calories
Chicken or turkey parmigiana
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 364 calories for 1 cup at 209 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 174 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 33.9 g protein, 1.7 g fiber, and 865 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, broiler or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, raw, representing 32.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 10 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 184–364 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706442: “Chicken or turkey parmigiana.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706442, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 thigh with sauce and cheese” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 thigh with sauce and cheeseUSDA-listed household measure | 106 g | 184 kcal | 17.2 g | 0.8 g | 439 mg |
| 1/2 breast with sauce and cheeseUSDA-listed household measure | 159 g | 277 kcal | 25.8 g | 1.3 g | 658 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 209 g | 364 kcal | 33.9 g | 1.7 g | 865 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 130 exact records in the Poultry mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706442’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter174 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter16.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half414 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706442’s 209 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium245 mg
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron2 mg
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium865 mg
≈ 38% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat5.5 g
≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chicken or turkey parmigiana,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706546 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 106 g and 209 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 184 kcal to 364 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.7 g more dietary fiber than “Chicken or turkey souffle.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 10 input rows; Chicken, broiler or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, raw supplies 32.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Chicken or turkey parmigiana” fits. Inspect FDC 2706546 when the exact wording “Chicken or turkey souffle” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChicken or turkey parmigiana | 209 g364 kcal | 174 kcal | 16.2 g | 8.3 g | 0.8 g | 414 mg |
| Chicken or turkey cacciatore | 244 g425 kcal | 174 kcal | 13.2 g | 10.6 g | 1.1 g | 664 mg |
| Chicken or turkey with stuffing | 200 g344 kcal | 172 kcal | 20 g | 4.9 g | 0.5 g | 454 mg |
| Chicken or turkey souffle | 80 g137 kcal | 171 kcal | 11.7 g | 11.3 g | 0.1 g | 380 mg |
| Chicken or turkey with dumplings | 244 g351 kcal | 144 kcal | 15.7 g | 5.6 g | 0.3 g | 488 mg |
| Chicken or turkey divan | 236 g330 kcal | 140 kcal | 15.5 g | 7.3 g | 1.3 g | 295 mg |
| Chicken or turkey fricassee | 244 g295 kcal | 121 kcal | 10.7 g | 7.2 g | 0.1 g | 418 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706442: its source amount is 209 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706442, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
317 kcal
182 g
364 kcal
209 g
277 kcal
159 g
184 kcal
106 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706442, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
152.6 mg≈ 51% Daily ValueSodium
865.3 mg≈ 38% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706442’s 209 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706442 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 33.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706442 at 209 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 209 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 364 kcal 174 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 33.9 g 16.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 17.3 g 8.3 g | 6% 3% |
| Total fat | 17.4 g 8.3 g | 22% 11% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.7 g 0.8 g | 6% 3% |
| Sugars | 3.5 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 865.3 mg 414 mg | 38% 18% |
| Saturated fat | 5.5 g 2.6 g | 27% 13% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.4 g 2.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.7 g 1.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 152.6 mg 73 mg | 51% 24% |
| Potassium | 476.5 mg 228 mg | 10% 5% |
| Calcium | 244.5 mg 117 mg | 19% 9% |
| Iron | 2.1 mg 1 mg | 12% 6% |
| Magnesium | 43.9 mg 21 mg | 10% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 4.2 mg 2 mg | 5% 2% |
| Vitamin D | 0.4 µg 0.2 µg | 2% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 104.5 µg 50 µg | 12% 6% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 135.9 g 65 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706442, approximate percentages divide the displayed 209 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706442 to 10 source inputs totaling 1,551.7 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken or turkey parmigiana” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken, broiler or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, raw, Tomato products, canned, sauce, Chicken, broilers or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, with added solution, raw. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
1,551.7 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chicken, broiler or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, rawUSDA ingredient 5062 · encyclopedia page available | 1.12 LB | 510.3 g | 32.9% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 TS | 3 g | 0.2% |
| 3 | Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available | 0.25 C | 31.3 g | 2% |
| 4 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 6.4% |
| 5 | Bread, crumbs, dry, grated, plainUSDA ingredient 18079 · encyclopedia page available | 0.75 C | 81 g | 5.2% |
| 6 | Cheese, mozzarella, low moisture, part-skimUSDA ingredient 1029 · encyclopedia page available | 170 GM | 170 g | 11% |
| 7 | Tomato products, canned, sauceUSDA ingredient 11549 · encyclopedia page available | 15 WO | 425.3 g | 27.4% |
| 8 | Cheese, parmesan, gratedUSDA ingredient 1032 · encyclopedia page available | 3 TB | 18.8 g | 1.2% |
| 9 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 3 TB | 42 g | 2.7% |
| 10 | Chicken, broilers or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, with added solution, rawUSDA ingredient 5314 | 0.38 LB | 170.1 g | 11% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706442, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Poultry mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 174 kcal | 171 kcal | +3 kcal |
| Protein | 16.2 g | 11.7 g | +4.5 g |
| Carbohydrate | 8.3 g | 5.6 g | +2.7 g |
| Total fat | 8.3 g | 11.3 g | −3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g | 0.1 g | +0.7 g |
| Sodium | 414 mg | 380 mg | +34 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 4.5 g more protein, 2.7 g more carbohydrate, and 3 g less total fat than “Chicken or turkey souffle.”
Only this record lists Chicken, broiler or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, raw; Bread, crumbs, dry, grated, plain; Cheese, mozzarella, low moisture, part-skim; Tomato products, canned, sauce. Only the comparison record lists Butter, stick, salted; Milk, NFS; Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Salt, table; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole.
Listed only in this record: Chicken, broiler or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, raw; Bread, crumbs, dry, grated, plain; Cheese, mozzarella, low moisture, part-skim; Tomato products, canned, sauce; and 3 more.
Listed only in the comparison: Butter, stick, salted; Milk, NFS; Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 209 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (209 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 80 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (159 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706442 with FDC 2706546 at equal mass; use their 209 g and 80 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706442 versus FDC 2706546 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full poultry mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Chicken or turkey parmigiana,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706442 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 174 kcal per 100 g becomes 364 kcal at 209 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706442
FNDDS food code: 27146300
The scaling for FDC 2706442 can be exact while the match to “Chicken or turkey parmigiana” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 209 g weight, 10-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.