Meat & poultrymoderate variability

Chicken/turkey fricassee calories: 295 per 1 cup (244 g)

This exact USDA record reports 295 calories for 1 cup (244 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Chicken or turkey fricassee

Quick facts

1 cup · 244 g

Calories
295 kcal
Protein
26.1 g
Carbohydrate
8.6 g
Total fat
17.5 g
Fiber
0.2 g
Sodium
1,020 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 244 g

295calories

Chicken or turkey fricassee

Protein
26.1 g
Carbs
8.6 g
Fat
17.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706429

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 295 calories for 1 cup at 244 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 121 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 26.1 g protein, 0.2 g fiber, and 1,020 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve, representing 51.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706429: “Chicken or turkey fricassee.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706429, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 183 g 221 kcal 19.6 g 0.2 g 765 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 244 g 295 kcal 26.1 g 0.2 g 1,020 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 305 g 369 kcal 32.6 g 0.3 g 1,275 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Poultry mixed dishes

The comparison set contains 130 exact records in the Poultry mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2706429’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

121 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
133 kcal
Middle 50%
122–156 kcal

Based on 130 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

10.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.5 g
Middle 50%
6.6–13.6 g

Based on 130 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

0.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.9 g
Middle 50%
0.5–1.2 g

Based on 130 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

418 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
358 mg
Middle 50%
341–454 mg

Based on 130 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706429’s 244 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron1 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Potassium290 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium1,020 mg

≈ 44% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat4.8 g

≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Chicken or turkey fricassee,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706543 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 244 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 183–305 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 221 kcal and 369 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2706543

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.5 g less carbohydrate than “Chicken or turkey with dumplings.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve

    The source formulation has 6 input rows; Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve supplies 51.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when the exact wording “Chicken or turkey fricassee” fits. Inspect FDC 2706543 when the exact wording “Chicken or turkey with dumplings” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Chicken or turkey fricassee

Exact source wording
“Chicken or turkey fricassee”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706429 · FNDDS 27142100
Source inputs unique in this pair
Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve · Fat, chicken

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Chicken or turkey with dumplings

Exact source wording
“Chicken or turkey with dumplings”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706543 · FNDDS 27246100
Source inputs unique in this pair
Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate · Shortening, vegetable, household, composite · Milk, NFS

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordChicken or turkey fricassee 244 g295 kcal 121 kcal 10.7 g 7.2 g 0.1 g 418 mg
Chicken or turkey tetrazzini 307 g365 kcal 119 kcal 12 g 4.8 g 0.5 g 386 mg
Chicken or turkey hash 190 g209 kcal 110 kcal 9.6 g 4.1 g 1.3 g 259 mg
Chicken or turkey divan 236 g330 kcal 140 kcal 15.5 g 7.3 g 1.3 g 295 mg
Chicken or turkey with dumplings 244 g351 kcal 144 kcal 15.7 g 5.6 g 0.3 g 488 mg
Chicken or turkey souffle 80 g137 kcal 171 kcal 11.7 g 11.3 g 0.1 g 380 mg
Chicken or turkey with stuffing 200 g344 kcal 172 kcal 20 g 4.9 g 0.5 g 454 mg

How to compare FDC 2706429: its source amount is 244 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706429, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

295 kcal

244 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706429, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

1,019.9 mg≈ 44% Daily Value

Cholesterol

112.2 mg≈ 37% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706429’s 244 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706429 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 26.1 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706429 at 244 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 1020 mg sodium, about 44% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 244 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 295 kcal Not established
Protein 26.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 8.6 g 3%
Total fat 17.5 g 22%
Dietary fiber 0.2 g 1%
Sugars 0.6 g Not established
Sodium 1,019.9 mg 44%
Saturated fat 4.8 g 24%
Monounsaturated Fat 7.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.3 g Not established
Cholesterol 112.2 mg 37%
Potassium 290.4 mg 6%
Calcium 22 mg 2%
Iron 1.3 mg 7%
Magnesium 24.4 mg 6%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.5 µg 2%
Vitamin A 7.3 µg 1%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 189.3 g Not established

For FDC 2706429, approximate percentages divide the displayed 244 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706429 to 6 source inputs totaling 1,632.3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken or turkey fricassee” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

6 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve, Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten, Beverages, water, tap, drinking. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

1,632.3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eatenUSDA ingredient 24102070 · encyclopedia page available 540 GM 540 g 33.1%
2 Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available 0.5 C 62.5 g 3.8%
3 Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serveUSDA ingredient 6194 · encyclopedia page available 3.5 C 840 g 51.5%
4 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 0.5 C 118.5 g 7.3%
5 Fat, chickenUSDA ingredient 4542 · encyclopedia page available 0.33 C 68.3 g 4.2%
6 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.5 TS 3 g 0.2%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706429, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Poultry mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories121 kcal144 kcal−23 kcal
Protein10.7 g15.7 g−5 g
Carbohydrate3.5 g8 g−4.5 g
Total fat7.2 g5.6 g+1.6 g
Dietary fiber0.1 g0.3 g−0.2 g
Sodium418 mg488 mg−70 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 23 less calories, 5 g less protein, and 4.5 g less carbohydrate than “Chicken or turkey with dumplings.”

Only this record lists Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve; Fat, chicken. Only the comparison record lists Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; Shortening, vegetable, household, composite; Milk, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve; Fat, chicken.

Listed only in the comparison: Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; Shortening, vegetable, household, composite; Milk, NFS.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 244 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (244 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 244 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (244 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706429 with FDC 2706543 at equal mass; use their 244 g and 244 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706429 versus FDC 2706543 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full poultry mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.

For “Chicken or turkey fricassee,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cut and fat trim

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, marinade, or sauce

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706429 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 121 kcal per 100 g becomes 295 kcal at 244 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706429

FNDDS food code: 27142100

The scaling for FDC 2706429 can be exact while the match to “Chicken or turkey fricassee” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 244 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.