Breads & baked goodshigher variability

Dumpling, no meat calories: 94 per 1 cup (75 g)

This exact USDA record reports 94 calories for 1 cup (75 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 75 g

Calories
94 kcal
Protein
2.6 g
Carbohydrate
15.4 g
Total fat
2.5 g
Fiber
0.5 g
Sodium
321 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 75 g

94calories

Dumpling, no meat

Protein
2.6 g
Carbs
15.4 g
Fat
2.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708344

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 94 calories for 1 cup at 75 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 125 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 2.6 g protein, 0.5 g fiber, and 321 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, municipal, representing 47% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 31–94 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708344: “Dumpling, no meat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708344, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 item, any size” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 item, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure 25 g 31 kcal 0.9 g 0.2 g 107 mg
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 56.3 g 70 kcal 1.9 g 0.4 g 241 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 75 g 94 kcal 2.6 g 0.5 g 321 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Biscuits, muffins, quick breads

The comparison set contains 34 exact records in the Biscuits, muffins, quick breads USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708344’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

125 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
305 kcal
Middle 50%
271–372 kcal

Based on 34 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

3.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.2 g
Middle 50%
5–6.9 g

Based on 34 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

0.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.8 g
Middle 50%
1.4–2.4 g

Based on 34 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

428 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
393 mg
Middle 50%
337–449 mg

Based on 34 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708344’s 75 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium107 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron1 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium321 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.7 g

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Dumpling, no meat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707816 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 item, any size to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 25 g and 75 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 31 kcal to 94 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707816

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.2 g less dietary fiber than “Corn pone, baked.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beverages, water, tap, municipal

    The source formulation has 6 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, municipal supplies 47% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “no meat” fits. Inspect FDC 2707816 when “baked” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Dumpling, no meat

Exact source wording
“Dumpling, no meat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708344 · FNDDS 55610300
Named qualifiers
no meat
Source inputs unique in this pair
Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached · Milk, NFS

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Corn pone, baked

Exact source wording
“Corn pone, baked”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707816 · FNDDS 52208010
Named qualifiers
baked
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “no meat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordDumpling, no meat 75 g94 kcal 125 kcal 3.5 g 3.4 g 0.7 g 428 mg
Spoonbread 94 g156 kcal 166 kcal 6.7 g 7.1 g 0.7 g 382 mg
Muffin, wheat bran 130 g270 kcal 208 kcal 6.3 g 5 g 2.2 g 208 mg
Corn pone, baked 61 g131 kcal 214 kcal 3.5 g 4.3 g 1.9 g 437 mg
Corn flour patty or tart, fried 20 g44 kcal 218 kcal 4 g 4.6 g 3 g 483 mg
Corn pone, fried 61 g155 kcal 254 kcal 3.3 g 9.8 g 1.8 g 417 mg

How to compare FDC 2708344: its source amount is 75 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708344, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 item, any size

31 kcal

25 g

1 cup

94 kcal

75 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708344, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

321 mg≈ 14% Daily Value

Calcium

106.5 mg≈ 8% Daily Value

Iron

1.2 mg≈ 7% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708344’s 75 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708344 at 75 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 321 mg sodium, about 14% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 75 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 94 kcal Not established
Protein 2.6 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 15.4 g 6%
Total fat 2.5 g 3%
Dietary fiber 0.5 g 2%
Sugars 0.9 g Not established
Sodium 321 mg 14%
Saturated fat 0.7 g 4%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.9 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.6 g Not established
Cholesterol 1.5 mg 1%
Potassium 53.3 mg 1%
Calcium 106.5 mg 8%
Iron 1.2 mg 7%
Magnesium 7.5 mg 2%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.2 µg 1%
Vitamin A 10.5 µg 1%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 53 g Not established

For FDC 2708344, approximate percentages divide the displayed 75 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708344 to 6 source inputs totaling 1,025.7 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Dumpling, no meat” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

6 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, municipal, Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached, Milk, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

1,025.7 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available 2 C 250 g 24.4%
2 Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfateUSDA ingredient 18369 · encyclopedia page available 4 TS 18.4 g 1.8%
3 Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available 1 C 244 g 23.8%
4 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1 TS 6 g 0.6%
5 Shortening, vegetable, household, compositeUSDA ingredient 4615 · encyclopedia page available 25.6 GM 25.6 g 2.5%
6 Beverages, water, tap, municipalUSDA ingredient 14429 · encyclopedia page available 482 GM 481.7 g 47%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708344, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Biscuits, muffins, quick breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories125 kcal214 kcal−89 kcal
Protein3.5 g3.5 g−0.1 g
Carbohydrate20.5 g39.7 g−19.2 g
Total fat3.4 g4.3 g−0.9 g
Dietary fiber0.7 g1.9 g−1.2 g
Sodium428 mg437 mg−9 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 89 less calories, 19.2 g less carbohydrate, and 1.2 g less dietary fiber than “Corn pone, baked.”

Only this record lists Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Milk, NFS. Only the comparison record lists Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; Salt, table; Shortening, vegetable, household, composite; Beverages, water, tap, municipal.

Listed only in this record: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Milk, NFS.

Listed only in the comparison: Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (75 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 61 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 piece (61 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708344 with FDC 2707816 at equal mass; use their 75 g and 61 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708344 versus FDC 2707816 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full biscuits, muffins, quick breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.

For “Dumpling, no meat,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    moisture and density

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    spreads or toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708344 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 125 kcal per 100 g becomes 94 kcal at 75 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708344

FNDDS food code: 55610300

The scaling for FDC 2708344 can be exact while the match to “Dumpling, no meat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 75 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.