Mixed disheshigher variability

Enchilada, beef calories: 287 per 1 enchilada, any size (150 g)

This exact USDA record reports 287 calories for 1 enchilada, any size (150 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 enchilada, any size · 150 g

Calories
287 kcal
Protein
14.6 g
Carbohydrate
21.9 g
Total fat
15.8 g
Fiber
3.5 g
Sodium
687 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 enchilada, any size · 150 g

287calories

Enchilada, beef

Protein
14.6 g
Carbs
21.9 g
Fat
15.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708566

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 287 calories for 1 enchilada, any size at 150 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 191 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 14.6 g protein, 3.5 g fiber, and 687 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, corn, representing 23.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 8 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 enchilada, any size at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 287–325 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708566: “Enchilada, beef.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708566, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 112.5 g 215 kcal 11 g 2.6 g 515 mg
1 enchilada, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure 150 g 287 kcal 14.6 g 3.5 g 687 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 170 g 325 kcal 16.6 g 3.9 g 779 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Other Mexican mixed dishes

The comparison set contains 41 exact records in the Other Mexican mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708566’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

191 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
228 kcal
Middle 50%
174–269 kcal

Based on 41 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

9.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
11.2 g
Middle 50%
8.1–12.5 g

Based on 41 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

2.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.1 g
Middle 50%
1.5–2.9 g

Based on 41 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

458 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
451 mg
Middle 50%
345–490 mg

Based on 41 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708566’s 150 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium177 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber3.5 g

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium687 mg

≈ 30% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat5.9 g

≈ 29% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Enchilada, beef,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708567 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 enchilada, any size to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 150 g and 170 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 287 kcal to 325 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708567

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.2 g more protein than “Enchilada, pork.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, corn

    The source formulation has 8 input rows; Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, corn supplies 23.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “beef” fits. Inspect FDC 2708567 when “pork” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Enchilada, beef

Exact source wording
“Enchilada, beef”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708566 · FNDDS 58102810
Named qualifiers
beef
Source inputs unique in this pair
Beef as ingredient in recipes

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Enchilada, pork

Exact source wording
“Enchilada, pork”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708567 · FNDDS 58102820
Named qualifiers
pork
Source inputs unique in this pair
Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean and fat, cooked, braised

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “beef”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordEnchilada, beef 150 g287 kcal 191 kcal 9.8 g 10.5 g 2.3 g 458 mg
Enchilada, pork 150 g288 kcal 192 kcal 9.5 g 10.7 g 2.3 g 456 mg
Enchilada, chicken 150 g267 kcal 178 kcal 10 g 9 g 2.3 g 459 mg
Tamale, beef 140 g244 kcal 174 kcal 7.4 g 9 g 2.4 g 473 mg
Enchilada, no meat 150 g248 kcal 165 kcal 6.4 g 8.2 g 3.1 g 474 mg
Fajita, beef or pork 95 g219 kcal 231 kcal 12.1 g 12.2 g 1.5 g 459 mg
Burrito bowl, beef or pork 225 g479 kcal 213 kcal 20 g 14.2 g 0 g 297 mg

How to compare FDC 2708566: its source amount is 150 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708566, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 enchilada, any size

287 kcal

150 g

1 cup

325 kcal

170 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708566, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

687 mg≈ 30% Daily Value

Saturated fat

5.9 g≈ 30% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708566’s 150 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708566 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 14.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708566 at 150 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 3.5 g dietary fiber, about 12% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 687 mg sodium, about 30% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 150 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 287 kcal Not established
Protein 14.6 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 21.9 g 8%
Total fat 15.8 g 20%
Dietary fiber 3.5 g 12%
Sugars 1.2 g Not established
Sodium 687 mg 30%
Saturated fat 5.9 g 29%
Monounsaturated Fat 5.2 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.6 g Not established
Cholesterol 40.5 mg 14%
Potassium 288 mg 6%
Calcium 177 mg 14%
Iron 1.7 mg 10%
Magnesium 48 mg 11%
Vitamin C 0.3 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 54 µg 6%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 94.5 g Not established

For FDC 2708566, approximate percentages divide the displayed 150 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708566 to 8 source inputs totaling 150.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Enchilada, beef” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

8 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, corn, Refried beans, canned, traditional, reduced sodium, Sauce, enchilada, red, mild, ready to serve. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

150.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, cornUSDA ingredient 18363 · encyclopedia page available 36 GM 36 g 23.9%
2 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 5 GM 5 g 3.3%
3 Beef as ingredient in recipesUSDA ingredient 99992100 · encyclopedia page available 25 GM 25 g 16.6%
4 Refried beans, canned, traditional, reduced sodiumUSDA ingredient 16403 · encyclopedia page available 30 GM 30 g 19.9%
5 Cheese and Queso as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99991410 · encyclopedia page available 20 GM 20 g 13.3%
6 Sauce, enchilada, red, mild, ready to serveUSDA ingredient 27063 · encyclopedia page available 30 GM 30 g 19.9%
7 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 4 GM 4 g 2.7%
8 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.8 GM 0.8 g 0.5%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708566, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Other Mexican mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories191 kcal192 kcal−1 kcal
Protein9.8 g9.5 g+0.2 g
Carbohydrate14.6 g14.6 gSame listed value
Total fat10.5 g10.7 g−0.2 g
Dietary fiber2.3 g2.3 gSame listed value
Sodium458 mg456 mg+2 mg

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Only this record lists Beef as ingredient in recipes. Only the comparison record lists Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean and fat, cooked, braised. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, corn; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Refried beans, canned, traditional, reduced sodium; Cheese and Queso as ingredient; and 3 more.

Listed only in this record: Beef as ingredient in recipes.

Listed only in the comparison: Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean and fat, cooked, braised.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 150 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 enchilada, any size (150 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 150 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 enchilada, any size (150 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708566 with FDC 2708567 at equal mass; use their 150 g and 150 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708566 versus FDC 2708567 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full other mexican mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, recipe and ingredient ratios, added cooking fat, sauces and toppings.

For “Enchilada, beef,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe and ingredient ratios

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    added cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    sauces and toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708566 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 191 kcal per 100 g becomes 287 kcal at 150 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 enchilada, any size has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708566

FNDDS food code: 58102810

The scaling for FDC 2708566 can be exact while the match to “Enchilada, beef” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 150 g weight, 8-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.