Energy
upper quarter91 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 25 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 21–58 kcal
Based on 12 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 70 calories for 1 cup (77 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Lettuce, salad with cheese, tomato and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing
Quick facts
1 cup · 77 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 77 g
70calories
Lettuce, salad with cheese, tomato and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 70 calories for 1 cup at 77 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 91 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 3.8 g protein, 0.9 g fiber, and 112 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is mixed salad greens, raw, representing 43.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709825: “Lettuce, salad with cheese, tomato and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709825, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 57.8 g | 53 kcal | 2.9 g | 0.7 g | 84 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 77 g | 70 kcal | 3.8 g | 0.9 g | 112 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 96.3 g | 88 kcal | 4.8 g | 1.2 g | 141 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 12 exact records in the Lettuce and lettuce salads USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2709825’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter91 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter4.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter146 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709825’s 77 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A194.8 µg
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium115 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.6 g
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium112 mg
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Lettuce, salad with cheese, tomato and/or carrots, with or without other…,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709827 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 57.8–96.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 53 kcal and 88 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.7 g more total fat than “Lettuce, salad with egg, cheese, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 7 input rows; Mixed salad greens, raw supplies 43.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “salad with cheese; tomato and/or carrots; with or without other vegetables; no dressing” fits. Inspect FDC 2709827 when “salad with egg; cheese; tomato; and/or carrots” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “salad with cheese”, “tomato and/or carrots”, “with or without other vegetables”, and “no dressing”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordLettuce, salad with cheese, tomato and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing | 77 g70 kcal | 91 kcal | 4.9 g | 6.1 g | 1.2 g | 146 mg |
| Lettuce, salad with egg, cheese, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing | 79 g56 kcal | 71 kcal | 4.2 g | 4.4 g | 1.2 g | 106 mg |
| Lettuce, salad with avocado, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing | 87 g47 kcal | 54 kcal | 1.3 g | 3.4 g | 2.7 g | 33 mg |
| Lettuce, salad with egg, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing | 88 g44 kcal | 50 kcal | 3.4 g | 2.3 g | 1.2 g | 56 mg |
| Lettuce, salad with assorted vegetables including tomatoes and/or carrots, no dressing | 73 g18 kcal | 24 kcal | 1.1 g | 0.2 g | 1.5 g | 39 mg |
| Lettuce, salad with assorted vegetables excluding tomatoes and carrots, no dressing | 74 g17 kcal | 23 kcal | 1.2 g | 0.2 g | 1.3 g | 34 mg |
| Caesar salad, with romaine, no dressing | 79 g61 kcal | 77 kcal | 4 g | 3.4 g | 1.8 g | 238 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709825: its source amount is 77 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709825, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
70 kcal
77 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709825, Vitamin A is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin A
194.8 µg≈ 22% Daily ValueSaturated fat
2.6 g≈ 13% Daily ValueCalcium
114.7 mg≈ 9% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709825’s 77 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 77 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 70 kcal 91 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 3.8 g 4.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 3.2 g 4.2 g | 1% 2% |
| Total fat | 4.7 g 6.1 g | 6% 8% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.9 g 1.2 g | 3% 4% |
| Sugars | 1.3 g 1.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 112.4 mg 146 mg | 5% 6% |
| Saturated fat | 2.6 g 3.4 g | 13% 17% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1 g 1.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.2 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 13.1 mg 17 mg | 4% 6% |
| Potassium | 183.3 mg 238 mg | 4% 5% |
| Calcium | 114.7 mg 149 mg | 9% 11% |
| Iron | 0.2 mg 0.3 mg | 1% 2% |
| Magnesium | 16.2 mg 21 mg | 4% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 6.1 mg 7.9 mg | 7% 9% |
| Vitamin D | 0.1 µg 0.1 µg | 0% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 194.8 µg 253 µg | 22% 28% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 64.4 g 83.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709825, approximate percentages divide the displayed 77 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709825 to 7 source inputs totaling 162.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Lettuce, salad with cheese, tomato and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no…” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Mixed salad greens, raw, Cheese, cheddar, Tomatoes, red, ripe, raw, year round average. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
162.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mixed salad greens, rawUSDA ingredient 75114000 · encyclopedia page available | 70 GM | 70 g | 43.1% |
| 2 | Tomatoes, red, ripe, raw, year round averageUSDA ingredient 11529 · encyclopedia page available | 18 GM | 18 g | 11.1% |
| 3 | Carrots, mature, rawUSDA ingredient 11124 · encyclopedia page available | 12.2 GM | 12.2 g | 7.5% |
| 4 | Celery, rawUSDA ingredient 11143 · encyclopedia page available | 12 GM | 12 g | 7.4% |
| 5 | Cucumber, with peel, rawUSDA ingredient 11205 · encyclopedia page available | 0.2 | 10.4 g | 6.4% |
| 6 | Onions, rawUSDA ingredient 11282 · encyclopedia page available | 11.5 GM | 11.5 g | 7.1% |
| 7 | Cheese, cheddarUSDA ingredient 1009 · encyclopedia page available | 4 TB | 28.3 g | 17.4% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709825, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Lettuce and lettuce salads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 91 kcal | 71 kcal | +20 kcal |
| Protein | 4.9 g | 4.2 g | +0.7 g |
| Carbohydrate | 4.2 g | 3.7 g | +0.5 g |
| Total fat | 6.1 g | 4.4 g | +1.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g | 1.2 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 146 mg | 106 mg | +40 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 20 more calories and 1.7 g more total fat than “Lettuce, salad with egg, cheese, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables….”
Only this record lists Onions, raw. Only the comparison record lists Egg, whole, cooked, hard-boiled; Radishes, raw. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Mixed salad greens, raw; Tomatoes, red, ripe, raw, year round average; Carrots, mature, raw; Celery, raw; and 2 more.
Listed only in this record: Onions, raw.
Listed only in the comparison: Egg, whole, cooked, hard-boiled; Radishes, raw.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 77 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (77 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 79 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (79 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709825 with FDC 2709827 at equal mass; use their 77 g and 79 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709825 versus FDC 2709827 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full lettuce and lettuce salads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2709825 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Lettuce, salad with cheese, tomato and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no…” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2709825 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method, added fat or sauce.
For “Lettuce, salad with cheese, tomato and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no…,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709825 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 91 kcal per 100 g becomes 70 kcal at 77 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Exact USDA description: Lettuce, salad with cheese, tomato and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709825
FNDDS food code: 75143200
The scaling for FDC 2709825 can be exact while the match to “Lettuce, salad with cheese, tomato and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 77 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.