Vegetablesmoderate variability

Lettuce, carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing calories: 44 per 1 cup (88 g)

This exact USDA record reports 44 calories for 1 cup (88 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Lettuce, salad with egg, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing

Quick facts

1 cup · 88 g

Calories
44 kcal
Protein
3 g
Carbohydrate
3.4 g
Total fat
2 g
Fiber
1.1 g
Sodium
49 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 88 g

44calories

Lettuce, salad with egg, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing

Protein
3 g
Carbs
3.4 g
Fat
2 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2709826

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 44 calories for 1 cup at 88 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 50 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 3 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 49 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is mixed salad greens, raw, representing 41.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709826: “Lettuce, salad with egg, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2709826, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 66 g 33 kcal 2.2 g 0.8 g 37 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 88 g 44 kcal 3 g 1.1 g 49 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 110 g 55 kcal 3.7 g 1.3 g 62 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Lettuce and lettuce salads

The comparison set contains 12 exact records in the Lettuce and lettuce salads USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2709826’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

50 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
25 kcal
Middle 50%
21–58 kcal

Based on 12 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

3.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.3 g
Middle 50%
1–3.6 g

Based on 12 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.4 g
Middle 50%
1.2–1.7 g

Based on 12 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

56 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
37 mg
Middle 50%
27–69 mg

Based on 12 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2709826’s 88 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A194.5 µg

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin C7 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat0.6 g

≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium49 mg

≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Lettuce, salad with egg, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other…,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709827 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 88 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 66–110 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 33 kcal and 55 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2709827

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 50 mg less sodium than “Lettuce, salad with egg, cheese, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Mixed salad greens, raw

    The source formulation has 7 input rows; Mixed salad greens, raw supplies 41.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “salad with egg; tomato; and/or carrots; with or without other vegetables” fits. Inspect FDC 2709827 when “salad with egg; cheese; tomato; and/or carrots” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Lettuce, salad with egg, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing

Exact source wording
“Lettuce, salad with egg, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709826 · FNDDS 75143300
Named qualifiers
salad with egg · tomato · and/or carrots · with or without other vegetables
Source inputs unique in this pair
Onions, raw

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “salad with egg”, “tomato”, “and/or carrots”, and “with or without other vegetables”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordLettuce, salad with egg, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing 88 g44 kcal 50 kcal 3.4 g 2.3 g 1.2 g 56 mg
Lettuce, salad with egg, cheese, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing 79 g56 kcal 71 kcal 4.2 g 4.4 g 1.2 g 106 mg
Lettuce, salad with avocado, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing 87 g47 kcal 54 kcal 1.3 g 3.4 g 2.7 g 33 mg
Lettuce, salad with cheese, tomato and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing 77 g70 kcal 91 kcal 4.9 g 6.1 g 1.2 g 146 mg
Lettuce, salad with assorted vegetables including tomatoes and/or carrots, no dressing 73 g18 kcal 24 kcal 1.1 g 0.2 g 1.5 g 39 mg
Lettuce, salad with assorted vegetables excluding tomatoes and carrots, no dressing 74 g17 kcal 23 kcal 1.2 g 0.2 g 1.3 g 34 mg
Caesar salad, with romaine, no dressing 79 g61 kcal 77 kcal 4 g 3.4 g 1.8 g 238 mg

How to compare FDC 2709826: its source amount is 88 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2709826, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

44 kcal

88 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2709826, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

66 mg≈ 22% Daily Value

Vitamin A

194.5 µg≈ 22% Daily Value

Vitamin C

6.8 mg≈ 8% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2709826’s 88 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 88 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 44 kcal Not established
Protein 3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 3.4 g 1%
Total fat 2 g 3%
Dietary fiber 1.1 g 4%
Sugars 1.5 g Not established
Sodium 49.3 mg 2%
Saturated fat 0.6 g 3%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.7 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.3 g Not established
Cholesterol 66 mg 22%
Potassium 213 mg 5%
Calcium 30.8 mg 2%
Iron 0.4 mg 2%
Magnesium 15 mg 4%
Vitamin C 6.8 mg 8%
Vitamin D 0.4 µg 2%
Vitamin A 194.5 µg 22%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 78.9 g Not established

For FDC 2709826, approximate percentages divide the displayed 88 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2709826 to 7 source inputs totaling 168.1 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Lettuce, salad with egg, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no…” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

7 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Mixed salad greens, raw, Egg, whole, cooked, hard-boiled, Tomatoes, red, ripe, raw, year round average. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

168.1 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Mixed salad greens, rawUSDA ingredient 75114000 · encyclopedia page available 70 GM 70 g 41.6%
2 Tomatoes, red, ripe, raw, year round averageUSDA ingredient 11529 · encyclopedia page available 18 GM 18 g 10.7%
3 Carrots, mature, rawUSDA ingredient 11124 · encyclopedia page available 12.2 GM 12.2 g 7.3%
4 Celery, rawUSDA ingredient 11143 · encyclopedia page available 12 GM 12 g 7.1%
5 Onions, rawUSDA ingredient 11282 · encyclopedia page available 11.5 GM 11.5 g 6.8%
6 Cucumber, with peel, rawUSDA ingredient 11205 · encyclopedia page available 0.2 10.4 g 6.2%
7 Egg, whole, cooked, hard-boiledUSDA ingredient 1129 · encyclopedia page available 4 TB 34 g 20.2%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2709826, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Lettuce and lettuce salads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

This record

Lettuce, salad with egg, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing

USDA category
Lettuce and lettuce salads
FDC ID
2709826
FNDDS code
75143300
Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories50 kcal71 kcal−21 kcal
Protein3.4 g4.2 g−0.8 g
Carbohydrate3.9 g3.7 g+0.2 g
Total fat2.3 g4.4 g−2.1 g
Dietary fiber1.2 g1.2 gSame listed value
Sodium56 mg106 mg−50 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 21 less calories, 2.1 g less total fat, and 50 mg less sodium than “Lettuce, salad with egg, cheese, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables….”

Only this record lists Onions, raw. Only the comparison record lists Cheese, cheddar; Radishes, raw. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Mixed salad greens, raw; Tomatoes, red, ripe, raw, year round average; Carrots, mature, raw; Celery, raw; and 2 more.

Listed only in this record: Onions, raw.

Listed only in the comparison: Cheese, cheddar; Radishes, raw.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 88 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (88 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 79 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (79 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709826 with FDC 2709827 at equal mass; use their 88 g and 79 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2709826 versus FDC 2709827 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full lettuce and lettuce salads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2709826 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method, added fat or sauce.

For “Lettuce, salad with egg, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no…,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    raw versus cooked weight

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    added fat or sauce

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2709826 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 50 kcal per 100 g becomes 44 kcal at 88 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Exact USDA description: Lettuce, salad with egg, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2709826

FNDDS food code: 75143300

The scaling for FDC 2709826 can be exact while the match to “Lettuce, salad with egg, tomato, and/or carrots, with or without other vegetables, no dressing” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 88 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.