Energy
upper quarter172 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 133 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 122–156 kcal
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 241 calories for 1 cup (140 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Meat loaf made with chicken or turkey
Quick facts
1 cup · 140 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 140 g
241calories
Meat loaf made with chicken or turkey
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 241 calories for 1 cup at 140 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 172 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 26.3 g protein, 0.8 g fiber, and 624 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is turkey, ground, cooked, representing 52.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 8 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 12–248 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706547: “Meat loaf made with chicken or turkey.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706547, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cocktail meatball” through “1 large or thick slice” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cocktail meatballUSDA-listed household measure | 7 g | 12 kcal | 1.3 g | 0 g | 31 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 140 g | 241 kcal | 26.3 g | 0.8 g | 624 mg |
| 1 large or thick sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 144 g | 248 kcal | 27.1 g | 0.9 g | 642 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 130 exact records in the Poultry mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706547’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter172 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter18.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half446 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706547’s 140 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium35 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium624 mg
≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.7 g
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Meat loaf made with chicken or turkey,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706548 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 7 g and 144 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 12 kcal to 248 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.3 g more protein than “Meat loaf made with chicken or turkey, with tomato-based sauce.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 8 input rows; Turkey, Ground, cooked supplies 52.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Meat loaf made with chicken or turkey” fits. Inspect FDC 2706548 when “with tomato-based sauce” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordMeat loaf made with chicken or turkey | 140 g241 kcal | 172 kcal | 18.8 g | 7.3 g | 0.6 g | 446 mg |
| Meat loaf made with chicken or turkey, with tomato-based sauce | 178 g258 kcal | 145 kcal | 15.5 g | 6.2 g | 0.8 g | 449 mg |
| Chicken or turkey salad, made with mayonnaise | 113 g266 kcal | 235 kcal | 13.9 g | 18.8 g | 0.4 g | 484 mg |
| Chicken or turkey salad, made with creamy dressing | 113 g212 kcal | 188 kcal | 13.8 g | 13.1 g | 0.4 g | 526 mg |
| Chicken or turkey salad, made with light mayonnaise | 113 g165 kcal | 146 kcal | 13.6 g | 8.2 g | 0.4 g | 529 mg |
| Chicken or turkey salad, made with Italian dressing | 113 g165 kcal | 146 kcal | 13.6 g | 7.8 g | 0.4 g | 564 mg |
| Chicken or turkey with stuffing | 200 g344 kcal | 172 kcal | 20 g | 4.9 g | 0.5 g | 454 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706547: its source amount is 140 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706547, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
148 kcal
86 g
186 kcal
108 g
248 kcal
144 g
12 kcal
7 g
24 kcal
14 g
48 kcal
28 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706547, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
117.6 mg≈ 39% Daily ValueSodium
624.4 mg≈ 27% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706547’s 140 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706547 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 26.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706547 at 140 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 140 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 241 kcal 172 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 26.3 g 18.8 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 11.3 g 8.1 g | 4% 3% |
| Total fat | 10.2 g 7.3 g | 13% 9% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g 0.6 g | 3% 2% |
| Sugars | 3 g 2.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 624.4 mg 446 mg | 27% 19% |
| Saturated fat | 2.7 g 1.9 g | 13% 10% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.3 g 2.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.9 g 2.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 117.6 mg 84 mg | 39% 28% |
| Potassium | 344.4 mg 246 mg | 7% 5% |
| Calcium | 98 mg 70 mg | 8% 5% |
| Iron | 2.1 mg 1.5 mg | 12% 8% |
| Magnesium | 35 mg 25 mg | 8% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 4.9 mg 3.5 mg | 5% 4% |
| Vitamin D | 0.4 µg 0.3 µg | 2% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 44.8 µg 32 µg | 5% 4% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 90.2 g 64.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706547, approximate percentages divide the displayed 140 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706547 to 8 source inputs totaling 784.1 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Meat loaf made with chicken or turkey” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Turkey, Ground, cooked, Milk, nonfat, fluid, without added vitamin A and vitamin D (fat free or skim), Bread, white, commercially prepared. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
784.1 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Turkey, Ground, cookedUSDA ingredient 5306 · encyclopedia page available | 413 GM | 412.8 g | 52.6% |
| 2 | Bread, white, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18069 · encyclopedia page available | 3 | 84 g | 10.7% |
| 3 | Milk, nonfat, fluid, without added vitamin A and vitamin D (fat free or skim)USDA ingredient 1151 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 C | 122.5 g | 15.6% |
| 4 | Onions, rawUSDA ingredient 11282 · encyclopedia page available | 80 GM | 80 g | 10.2% |
| 5 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 6.4% |
| 6 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TS | 6 g | 0.8% |
| 7 | Spices, pepper, blackUSDA ingredient 2030 · encyclopedia page available | 0.25 TS | 0.5 g | 0.1% |
| 8 | Pimento, cannedUSDA ingredient 11943 · encyclopedia page available | 1 WO | 28.4 g | 3.6% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706547, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Poultry mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 172 kcal | 145 kcal | +27 kcal |
| Protein | 18.8 g | 15.5 g | +3.3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 8.1 g | 7.3 g | +0.8 g |
| Total fat | 7.3 g | 6.2 g | +1.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.6 g | 0.8 g | −0.2 g |
| Sodium | 446 mg | 449 mg | −3 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 27 more calories, 3.3 g more protein, and 1.1 g more total fat than “Meat loaf made with chicken or turkey, with tomato-based sauce.”
Only this record lists Milk, nonfat, fluid, without added vitamin A and vitamin D (fat free or skim). Only the comparison record lists Milk, NFS; Tomato products, canned, sauce. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Turkey, Ground, cooked; Bread, white, commercially prepared; Onions, raw; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; and 3 more.
Listed only in this record: Milk, nonfat, fluid, without added vitamin A and vitamin D (fat free or skim).
Listed only in the comparison: Milk, NFS; Tomato products, canned, sauce.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 140 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (140 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 178 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (178 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706547 with FDC 2706548 at equal mass; use their 140 g and 178 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706547 versus FDC 2706548 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full poultry mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Meat loaf made with chicken or turkey” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706547 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Meat loaf made with chicken or turkey,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706547 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 172 kcal per 100 g becomes 241 kcal at 140 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706547
FNDDS food code: 27246500
The scaling for FDC 2706547 can be exact while the match to “Meat loaf made with chicken or turkey” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 140 g weight, 8-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.