Vegetablesmoderate variability

French fries, from fresh, baked calories: 183 per 110 g

This exact USDA record reports 183 calories for 110 g. That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked

Quick facts

USDA reference amount · 110 g

Calories
183 kcal
Protein
2.2 g
Carbohydrate
21.2 g
Total fat
10.1 g
Fiber
1.9 g
Sodium
162 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 110 g

183calories

Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked

Protein
2.2 g
Carbs
21.2 g
Fat
10.1 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2709459

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 183 calories for USDA reference amount at 110 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 166 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 2.2 g protein, 1.9 g fiber, and 162 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt, representing 45.3% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The reference amount and 1 large, raw, yields answer different portion questions. Their values are scaled independently from the same per-100-gram source record.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 3–183 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709459: “Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2709459, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 shoestring” through “1 large, raw, yields” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 shoestringUSDA-listed household measure 2 g 3 kcal 0 g 0 g 3 mg
1 fry, NS as to shapeUSDA-listed household measure 5 g 8 kcal 0.1 g 0.1 g 7 mg
1 large, raw, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure 100 g 166 kcal 2 g 1.7 g 147 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside French fries and other fried white potatoes

The comparison set contains 36 exact records in the French fries and other fried white potatoes USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2709459’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

166 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
220 kcal
Middle 50%
187–243 kcal

Based on 36 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.6 g
Middle 50%
2–4.7 g

Based on 36 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.2 g
Middle 50%
1.6–2.7 g

Based on 36 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

147 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
363 mg
Middle 50%
261–421 mg

Based on 36 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2709459’s 110 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin C11 mg

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Potassium461 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium162 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1.4 g

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709458 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 shoestring to 1 large, raw, yields

    USDA assigns those measures 2 g and 100 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 3 kcal to 166 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2709458

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.9 g less total fat than “Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt supplies 45.3% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “french fries; from fresh; baked” fits. Inspect FDC 2709458 when “french fries; from fresh; fried” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked

Exact source wording
“Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709459 · FNDDS 71401015
Named qualifiers
french fries · from fresh · baked

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried

Exact source wording
“Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709458 · FNDDS 71401010
Named qualifiers
french fries · from fresh · fried

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “french fries”, “from fresh”, and “baked”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPotato, french fries, from fresh, baked 110 g183 kcal 166 kcal 2 g 9.2 g 1.7 g 147 mg
Potato, french fries, from frozen, baked 110 g174 kcal 158 kcal 2.8 g 5.5 g 2 g 324 mg
Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried 110 g218 kcal 198 kcal 1.9 g 13.1 g 1.6 g 141 mg
Potato, french fries, school 110 g183 kcal 166 kcal 2 g 9.2 g 1.7 g 147 mg
Potato, home fries, from fresh 100 g185 kcal 185 kcal 2 g 11.5 g 1.6 g 279 mg
Potato, french fries, with chili 130 g313 kcal 241 kcal 5.2 g 10.8 g 3.6 g 261 mg
Potato, french fries, with cheese 130 g338 kcal 260 kcal 3.3 g 14.2 g 2.6 g 365 mg

How to compare FDC 2709459: its source amount is 110 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2709459, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 fry, NS as to shape

8 kcal

5 g

1 shoestring

3 kcal

2 g

1 straight cut

8 kcal

5 g

1 spiral or curly

13 kcal

8 g

1 waffle

13 kcal

8 g

1 wedge

15 kcal

9 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2709459, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Total fat

10.1 g≈ 13% Daily Value

Vitamin C

11.1 mg≈ 12% Daily Value

Potassium

460.9 mg≈ 10% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2709459’s 110 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 110 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 183 kcal Not established
Protein 2.2 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 21.2 g 8%
Total fat 10.1 g 13%
Dietary fiber 1.9 g 7%
Sugars 1.4 g Not established
Sodium 161.7 mg 7%
Saturated fat 1.4 g 7%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.2 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.9 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 460.9 mg 10%
Calcium 9.9 mg 1%
Iron 0.7 mg 4%
Magnesium 26.4 mg 6%
Vitamin C 11.1 mg 12%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 74.9 g Not established

For FDC 2709459, approximate percentages divide the displayed 110 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2709459 to 4 source inputs totaling 110.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt, Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

110.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Potatoes, baked, flesh, without saltUSDA ingredient 11363 · encyclopedia page available 50 GM 50 g 45.3%
2 Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without saltUSDA ingredient 11674 · encyclopedia page available 50 GM 50 g 45.3%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.4 GM 0.4 g 0.4%
4 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 9.1%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2709459, the close-record rule searches the USDA “French fries and other fried white potatoes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories166 kcal198 kcal−32 kcal
Protein2 g1.9 g+0.1 g
Carbohydrate19.3 g18.5 g+0.8 g
Total fat9.2 g13.1 g−3.9 g
Dietary fiber1.7 g1.6 g+0.1 g
Sodium147 mg141 mg+6 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 32 less calories and 3.9 g less total fat than “Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried.”

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt; Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt; Salt, table; Vegetable oil, NFS.

The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 110 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 large, raw, yields (100 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 110 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 large, raw, yields (100 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709459 with FDC 2709458 at equal mass; use their 110 g and 110 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2709459 versus FDC 2709458 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full french fries and other fried white potatoes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2709459 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method, added fat or sauce.

For “Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    raw versus cooked weight

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    added fat or sauce

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2709459 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 166 kcal per 100 g becomes 183 kcal at 110 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” We display it as a USDA reference amount because it is a database comparison point—not a suggested portion or a claim about what most people should eat.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2709459

FNDDS food code: 71401015

The scaling for FDC 2709459 can be exact while the match to “Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 110 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.