Energy
lower quarter185 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 220 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 187–243 kcal
Based on 36 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 185 calories for 1 potato, any size (100 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 potato, any size · 100 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 potato, any size · 100 g
185calories
Potato, home fries, from fresh
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 185 calories for 1 potato, any size at 100 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 185 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2 g protein, 1.6 g fiber, and 279 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt, representing 43.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 potato, any size at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 185–370 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709474: “Potato, home fries, from fresh.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709474, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 75 g | 139 kcal | 1.5 g | 1.2 g | 209 mg |
| 1 potato, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 100 g | 185 kcal | 2 g | 1.6 g | 279 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 200 g | 370 kcal | 3.9 g | 3.2 g | 558 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 36 exact records in the French fries and other fried white potatoes USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2709474’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter185 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 36 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 36 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 36 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half279 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 36 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709474’s 100 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin C10 mg
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Potassium407 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium279 mg
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.6 g
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Potato, home fries, from fresh,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709476 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 100 g and 200 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 185 kcal to 370 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 103 mg less sodium than “Potato, home fries, with vegetables.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt supplies 43.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “home fries; from fresh” fits. Inspect FDC 2709476 when “home fries; with vegetables” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “home fries” and “from fresh”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPotato, home fries, from fresh | 100 g185 kcal | 185 kcal | 2 g | 11.5 g | 1.6 g | 279 mg |
| Potato, home fries, with vegetables | 100 g173 kcal | 173 kcal | 1.7 g | 11.8 g | 1.5 g | 382 mg |
| Potato, home fries, ready-to-heat | 100 g197 kcal | 197 kcal | 1.9 g | 13 g | 1.6 g | 340 mg |
| Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried | 110 g218 kcal | 198 kcal | 1.9 g | 13.1 g | 1.6 g | 141 mg |
| Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked | 110 g183 kcal | 166 kcal | 2 g | 9.2 g | 1.7 g | 147 mg |
| Potato, home fries, from restaurant / fast food | 100 g213 kcal | 213 kcal | 1.9 g | 15.2 g | 1.6 g | 396 mg |
| Potato, hash brown, from fresh | 80 g152 kcal | 190 kcal | 1.9 g | 12.3 g | 1.6 g | 343 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709474: its source amount is 100 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709474, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
370 kcal
200 g
185 kcal
100 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709474, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
11.5 g≈ 15% Daily ValueSodium
279 mg≈ 12% Daily ValueVitamin C
9.8 mg≈ 11% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709474’s 100 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2709474 at 100 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 100 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 185 kcal 185 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2 g 2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 18.8 g 18.8 g | 7% 7% |
| Total fat | 11.5 g 11.5 g | 15% 15% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.6 g 1.6 g | 6% 6% |
| Sugars | 1.3 g 1.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 279 mg 279 mg | 12% 12% |
| Saturated fat | 1.6 g 1.6 g | 8% 8% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.8 g 4.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 4.4 g 4.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 407 mg 407 mg | 9% 9% |
| Calcium | 9 mg 9 mg | 1% 1% |
| Iron | 0.7 mg 0.7 mg | 4% 4% |
| Magnesium | 23 mg 23 mg | 5% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 9.8 mg 9.8 mg | 11% 11% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 66 g 66 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709474, approximate percentages divide the displayed 100 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709474 to 4 source inputs totaling 113.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato, home fries, from fresh” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt, Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
113.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Potatoes, baked, flesh, without saltUSDA ingredient 11363 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 43.9% |
| 2 | Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without saltUSDA ingredient 11674 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 43.9% |
| 3 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 13 GM | 13 g | 11.4% |
| 4 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.8 GM | 0.8 g | 0.7% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709474, the close-record rule searches the USDA “French fries and other fried white potatoes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 185 kcal | 173 kcal | +12 kcal |
| Protein | 2 g | 1.7 g | +0.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 18.8 g | 15.6 g | +3.2 g |
| Total fat | 11.5 g | 11.8 g | −0.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.6 g | 1.5 g | +0.1 g |
| Sodium | 279 mg | 382 mg | −103 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 12 more calories, 3.2 g more carbohydrate, and 103 mg less sodium than “Potato, home fries, with vegetables.”
Only the comparison record lists Onions, raw; Peppers, bell, green, raw; Peppers, hot chili, red, raw. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt; Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.
Listed only in the comparison: Onions, raw; Peppers, bell, green, raw; Peppers, hot chili, red, raw.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 100 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 potato, any size (100 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 100 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 potato, any size (100 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709474 with FDC 2709476 at equal mass; use their 100 g and 100 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709474 versus FDC 2709476 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full french fries and other fried white potatoes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2709474 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Potato, home fries, from fresh” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2709474 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method, added fat or sauce.
For “Potato, home fries, from fresh,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709474 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 185 kcal per 100 g becomes 185 kcal at 100 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 potato, any size has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709474
FNDDS food code: 71403040
The scaling for FDC 2709474 can be exact while the match to “Potato, home fries, from fresh” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 100 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.