Vegetablesmoderate variability

French fries, from fresh, fried calories: 218 per 110 g

This exact USDA record reports 218 calories for 110 g. That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried

Quick facts

USDA reference amount · 110 g

Calories
218 kcal
Protein
2.1 g
Carbohydrate
20.4 g
Total fat
14.4 g
Fiber
1.8 g
Sodium
155 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 110 g

218calories

Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried

Protein
2.1 g
Carbs
20.4 g
Fat
14.4 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2709458

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 218 calories for USDA reference amount at 110 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 198 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 2.1 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 155 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt, representing 43.3% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The reference amount and 1 large, raw, yields answer different portion questions. Their values are scaled independently from the same per-100-gram source record.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 4–218 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709458: “Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2709458, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 shoestring” through “1 large, raw, yields” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 shoestringUSDA-listed household measure 2 g 4 kcal 0 g 0 g 3 mg
1 fry, NS as to shapeUSDA-listed household measure 5 g 10 kcal 0.1 g 0.1 g 7 mg
1 large, raw, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure 100 g 198 kcal 1.9 g 1.6 g 141 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside French fries and other fried white potatoes

The comparison set contains 36 exact records in the French fries and other fried white potatoes USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2709458’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

198 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
220 kcal
Middle 50%
187–243 kcal

Based on 36 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

1.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.6 g
Middle 50%
2–4.7 g

Based on 36 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.2 g
Middle 50%
1.6–2.7 g

Based on 36 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

141 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
363 mg
Middle 50%
261–421 mg

Based on 36 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2709458’s 110 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin C11 mg

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Potassium441 mg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat1.9 g

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium155 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709459 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 shoestring to 1 large, raw, yields

    USDA assigns those measures 2 g and 100 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 4 kcal to 198 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2709459

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.9 g more total fat than “Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt supplies 43.3% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “french fries; from fresh; fried” fits. Inspect FDC 2709459 when “french fries; from fresh; baked” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried

Exact source wording
“Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709458 · FNDDS 71401010
Named qualifiers
french fries · from fresh · fried

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked

Exact source wording
“Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709459 · FNDDS 71401015
Named qualifiers
french fries · from fresh · baked

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “french fries”, “from fresh”, and “fried”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPotato, french fries, from fresh, fried 110 g218 kcal 198 kcal 1.9 g 13.1 g 1.6 g 141 mg
Potato, french fries, from frozen, fried 110 g248 kcal 225 kcal 2.5 g 14.1 g 1.8 g 295 mg
Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked 110 g183 kcal 166 kcal 2 g 9.2 g 1.7 g 147 mg
Potato, home fries, from fresh 100 g185 kcal 185 kcal 2 g 11.5 g 1.6 g 279 mg
Potato, french fries, school 110 g183 kcal 166 kcal 2 g 9.2 g 1.7 g 147 mg
Potato, french fries, with chili 130 g313 kcal 241 kcal 5.2 g 10.8 g 3.6 g 261 mg
Potato, french fries, with cheese 130 g338 kcal 260 kcal 3.3 g 14.2 g 2.6 g 365 mg

How to compare FDC 2709458: its source amount is 110 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2709458, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 fry, NS as to shape

10 kcal

5 g

1 shoestring

4 kcal

2 g

1 straight cut

10 kcal

5 g

1 spiral or curly

16 kcal

8 g

1 waffle

16 kcal

8 g

1 wedge

18 kcal

9 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2709458, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Total fat

14.4 g≈ 19% Daily Value

Vitamin C

10.7 mg≈ 12% Daily Value

Saturated fat

1.9 g≈ 10% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2709458’s 110 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 110 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 218 kcal Not established
Protein 2.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 20.4 g 7%
Total fat 14.4 g 18%
Dietary fiber 1.8 g 6%
Sugars 1.4 g Not established
Sodium 155.1 mg 7%
Saturated fat 1.9 g 10%
Monounsaturated Fat 6.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 5.5 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 441.1 mg 9%
Calcium 9.9 mg 1%
Iron 0.7 mg 4%
Magnesium 25.3 mg 6%
Vitamin C 10.7 mg 12%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 71.6 g Not established

For FDC 2709458, approximate percentages divide the displayed 110 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2709458 to 4 source inputs totaling 115.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt, Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

115.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Potatoes, baked, flesh, without saltUSDA ingredient 11363 · encyclopedia page available 50 GM 50 g 43.3%
2 Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without saltUSDA ingredient 11674 · encyclopedia page available 50 GM 50 g 43.3%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.4 GM 0.4 g 0.3%
4 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 15 GM 15 g 13%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2709458, the close-record rule searches the USDA “French fries and other fried white potatoes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories198 kcal166 kcal+32 kcal
Protein1.9 g2 g−0.1 g
Carbohydrate18.5 g19.3 g−0.8 g
Total fat13.1 g9.2 g+3.9 g
Dietary fiber1.6 g1.7 g−0.1 g
Sodium141 mg147 mg−6 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 32 more calories and 3.9 g more total fat than “Potato, french fries, from fresh, baked.”

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt; Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt; Salt, table; Vegetable oil, NFS.

The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 110 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 large, raw, yields (100 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 110 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 large, raw, yields (100 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709458 with FDC 2709459 at equal mass; use their 110 g and 110 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2709458 versus FDC 2709459 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full french fries and other fried white potatoes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2709458 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount of absorbed frying fat, portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method.

For “Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried,” resolve amount of absorbed frying fat first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount of absorbed frying fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  2. 02

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  3. 03

    raw versus cooked weight

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2709458 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 198 kcal per 100 g becomes 218 kcal at 110 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” We display it as a USDA reference amount because it is a database comparison point—not a suggested portion or a claim about what most people should eat.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2709458

FNDDS food code: 71401010

The scaling for FDC 2709458 can be exact while the match to “Potato, french fries, from fresh, fried” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 110 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.