Energy
upper quarter108 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 88 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 75–91 kcal
Based on 13 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 265 calories for 1 cup (245 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 245 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 245 g
265calories
Soup, French onion
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 265 calories for 1 cup at 245 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 108 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 13.4 g protein, 2.7 g fiber, and 926 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is onions, cooked, as ingredient, representing 39.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 265–567 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710108: “Soup, French onion.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2710108, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cup” through “1 can” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 245 g | 265 kcal | 13.4 g | 2.7 g | 926 mg |
| 1 individual containerUSDA-listed household measure | 440 g | 475 kcal | 24 g | 4.8 g | 1,663 mg |
| 1 canUSDA-listed household measure | 525 g | 567 kcal | 28.6 g | 5.8 g | 1,985 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 13 exact records in the Soups, cream-based USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2710108’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter108 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 13 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter5.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 13 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 13 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter378 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 13 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2710108’s 245 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium338 mg
≈ 26% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber2.7 g
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium926 mg
≈ 40% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat5.8 g
≈ 29% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Soup, French onion,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709556 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 245 g and 525 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 265 kcal to 567 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.9 g more protein than “Soup, potato.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 7 input rows; Onions, cooked, as ingredient supplies 39.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “French onion” fits. Inspect FDC 2709556 when “potato” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “French onion”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSoup, French onion | 245 g265 kcal | 108 kcal | 5.5 g | 4.5 g | 1.1 g | 378 mg |
| Soup, pepperpot | 245 g223 kcal | 91 kcal | 3.1 g | 5.8 g | 0.9 g | 251 mg |
| Soup, potato | 255 g230 kcal | 90 kcal | 1.5 g | 4.7 g | 1.2 g | 240 mg |
| Soup, peanut | 245 g216 kcal | 88 kcal | 3.2 g | 5.3 g | 1.7 g | 246 mg |
| Soup, bisque | 255 g191 kcal | 75 kcal | 2.3 g | 4.8 g | 0.9 g | 239 mg |
| Soup, potato with meat | 255 g278 kcal | 109 kcal | 3.8 g | 6.4 g | 1 g | 246 mg |
| Soup, pumpkin | 245 g176 kcal | 72 kcal | 1.1 g | 4.7 g | 1.5 g | 241 mg |
How to compare FDC 2710108: its source amount is 245 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2710108, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
265 kcal
245 g
567 kcal
525 g
475 kcal
440 g
At a glance
For FDC 2710108, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
926.1 mg≈ 40% Daily ValueSaturated fat
5.8 g≈ 29% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2710108’s 245 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2710108 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 13.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2710108 at 245 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 245 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 265 kcal 108 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 13.4 g 5.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 28.9 g 11.8 g | 11% 4% |
| Total fat | 11 g 4.5 g | 14% 6% |
| Dietary fiber | 2.7 g 1.1 g | 10% 4% |
| Sugars | 6.1 g 2.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 926.1 mg 378 mg | 40% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 5.8 g 2.4 g | 29% 12% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.3 g 1.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1 g 0.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 31.9 mg 13 mg | 11% 4% |
| Potassium | 227.9 mg 93 mg | 5% 2% |
| Calcium | 338.1 mg 138 mg | 26% 11% |
| Iron | 1.6 mg 0.7 mg | 9% 4% |
| Magnesium | 31.9 mg 13 mg | 8% 3% |
| Vitamin C | 7.1 mg 2.9 mg | 8% 3% |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 78.4 µg 32 µg | 9% 4% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 187.9 g 76.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2710108, approximate percentages divide the displayed 245 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2710108 to 7 source inputs totaling 100.9 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Soup, French onion” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Onions, cooked, as ingredient, Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Cheese, gruyere. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.9 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bread, french or vienna (includes sourdough)USDA ingredient 18029 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 9.9% |
| 2 | Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available | 35 GM | 35 g | 34.7% |
| 3 | Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available | 3 GM | 3 g | 3% |
| 4 | Cheese, gruyereUSDA ingredient 1023 | 12 GM | 12 g | 11.9% |
| 5 | Onions, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997510 · encyclopedia page available | 40 GM | 40 g | 39.6% |
| 6 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 0.3 GM | 0.3 g | 0.3% |
| 7 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.6 GM | 0.6 g | 0.6% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2710108, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Soups, cream-based” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 108 kcal | 90 kcal | +18 kcal |
| Protein | 5.5 g | 1.5 g | +3.9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 11.8 g | 10.5 g | +1.3 g |
| Total fat | 4.5 g | 4.7 g | −0.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.1 g | 1.2 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 378 mg | 240 mg | +138 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 18 more calories, 3.9 g more protein, and 138 mg more sodium than “Soup, potato.”
Only this record lists Bread, french or vienna (includes sourdough); Cheese, gruyere; Onions, cooked, as ingredient. Only the comparison record lists Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredient; Cream, heavy; Potato, cooked, as ingredient. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Bread, french or vienna (includes sourdough); Cheese, gruyere; Onions, cooked, as ingredient.
Listed only in the comparison: Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredient; Cream, heavy; Potato, cooked, as ingredient.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 245 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (245 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710108 with FDC 2709556 at equal mass; use their 245 g and 255 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2710108 versus FDC 2709556 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full soups, cream-based source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Soup, French onion” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2710108 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with bowl size, solid-to-broth ratio, recipe, added cream, oil, or toppings.
For “Soup, French onion,” resolve bowl size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Resolve bowl size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2710108 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 108 kcal per 100 g becomes 265 kcal at 245 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2710108
FNDDS food code: 75608100
The scaling for FDC 2710108 can be exact while the match to “Soup, French onion” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 245 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.