Soups & stewshigher variability

Soup, potato with meat calories: 278 per 1 cup (255 g)

This exact USDA record reports 278 calories for 1 cup (255 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 255 g

Calories
278 kcal
Protein
9.6 g
Carbohydrate
22.5 g
Total fat
16.4 g
Fiber
2.6 g
Sodium
627 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 255 g

278calories

Soup, potato with meat

Protein
9.6 g
Carbs
22.5 g
Fat
16.4 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2709557

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 278 calories for 1 cup at 255 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 109 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 9.6 g protein, 2.6 g fiber, and 627 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 34.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 8 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 278–572 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709557: “Soup, potato with meat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2709557, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cup” through “1 can” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 255 g 278 kcal 9.6 g 2.6 g 627 mg
1 individual containerUSDA-listed household measure 440 g 480 kcal 16.6 g 4.4 g 1,082 mg
1 canUSDA-listed household measure 525 g 572 kcal 19.8 g 5.3 g 1,292 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Soups, cream-based

The comparison set contains 13 exact records in the Soups, cream-based USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2709557’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

109 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
88 kcal
Middle 50%
75–91 kcal

Based on 13 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

3.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.1 g
Middle 50%
1.5–3.8 g

Based on 13 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.1 g
Middle 50%
1–1.2 g

Based on 13 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

246 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
246 mg
Middle 50%
242–251 mg

Based on 13 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2709557’s 255 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A153 µg

≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin C14 mg

≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat8 g

≈ 40% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium627 mg

≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Soup, potato with meat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709556 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cup to 1 can

    USDA assigns those measures 255 g and 525 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 278 kcal to 572 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2709556

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.3 g more protein than “Soup, potato.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beverages, water, tap, drinking

    The source formulation has 8 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 34.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “potato with meat” fits. Inspect FDC 2709556 when “potato” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Soup, potato with meat

Exact source wording
“Soup, potato with meat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709557 · FNDDS 71801005
Named qualifiers
potato with meat
Source inputs unique in this pair
Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean and fat, cooked, braised

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Soup, potato

Exact source wording
“Soup, potato”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709556 · FNDDS 71801000
Named qualifiers
potato

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “potato with meat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordSoup, potato with meat 255 g278 kcal 109 kcal 3.8 g 6.4 g 1 g 246 mg
Soup, potato 255 g230 kcal 90 kcal 1.5 g 4.7 g 1.2 g 240 mg
Soup, pepperpot 245 g223 kcal 91 kcal 3.1 g 5.8 g 0.9 g 251 mg
Soup, peanut 245 g216 kcal 88 kcal 3.2 g 5.3 g 1.7 g 246 mg
Soup, bisque 255 g191 kcal 75 kcal 2.3 g 4.8 g 0.9 g 239 mg
Soup, French onion 245 g265 kcal 108 kcal 5.5 g 4.5 g 1.1 g 378 mg
Soup, pumpkin 245 g176 kcal 72 kcal 1.1 g 4.7 g 1.5 g 241 mg

How to compare FDC 2709557: its source amount is 255 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2709557, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

278 kcal

255 g

1 can

572 kcal

525 g

1 individual container

480 kcal

440 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2709557, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

8 g≈ 40% Daily Value

Sodium

627.3 mg≈ 27% Daily Value

Total fat

16.4 g≈ 21% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2709557’s 255 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2709557 at 255 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 627 mg sodium, about 27% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 255 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 278 kcal Not established
Protein 9.6 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 22.5 g 8%
Total fat 16.4 g 21%
Dietary fiber 2.6 g 9%
Sugars 2.4 g Not established
Sodium 627.3 mg 27%
Saturated fat 8 g 40%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.6 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.4 g Not established
Cholesterol 56.1 mg 19%
Potassium 535.5 mg 11%
Calcium 43.4 mg 3%
Iron 1.2 mg 7%
Magnesium 33.2 mg 8%
Vitamin C 14 mg 16%
Vitamin D 0.8 µg 4%
Vitamin A 153 µg 17%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 203.2 g Not established

For FDC 2709557, approximate percentages divide the displayed 255 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2709557 to 8 source inputs totaling 100.9 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Soup, potato with meat” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

8 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Potato, cooked, as ingredient, Cream, heavy. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.9 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997805 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 9.9%
2 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 35 GM 35 g 34.7%
3 Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available 3 GM 3 g 3%
4 Cream, heavyUSDA ingredient 1053 · encyclopedia page available 12 GM 12 g 11.9%
5 Potato, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997100 · encyclopedia page available 30 GM 30 g 29.7%
6 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 0.3 GM 0.3 g 0.3%
7 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.6 GM 0.6 g 0.6%
8 Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean and fat, cooked, braisedUSDA ingredient 10081 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 9.9%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2709557, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Soups, cream-based” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories109 kcal90 kcal+19 kcal
Protein3.8 g1.5 g+2.3 g
Carbohydrate8.8 g10.5 g−1.7 g
Total fat6.4 g4.7 g+1.7 g
Dietary fiber1 g1.2 g−0.2 g
Sodium246 mg240 mg+6 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 19 more calories, 2.3 g more protein, and 1.7 g more total fat than “Soup, potato.”

Only this record lists Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean and fat, cooked, braised. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredient; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Cream, heavy; and 3 more.

Listed only in this record: Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean and fat, cooked, braised.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709557 with FDC 2709556 at equal mass; use their 255 g and 255 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2709557 versus FDC 2709556 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full soups, cream-based source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with bowl size, solid-to-broth ratio, recipe, added cream, oil, or toppings.

For “Soup, potato with meat,” resolve bowl size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    bowl size

    Resolve bowl size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  2. 02

    solid-to-broth ratio

    Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.

  3. 03

    recipe

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    added cream, oil, or toppings

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2709557 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 109 kcal per 100 g becomes 278 kcal at 255 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2709557

FNDDS food code: 71801005

The scaling for FDC 2709557 can be exact while the match to “Soup, potato with meat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 255 g weight, 8-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.