Energy
middle half437 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 450 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 428–486 kcal
Based on 83 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 166 calories for 1 medium bar (38 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium bar · 38 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium bar · 38 g
166calories
Cookie, lemon bar
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 166 calories for 1 medium bar at 38 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 437 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 1.9 g protein, 0.3 g fiber, and 85 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is sugars, granulated, representing 32.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 8 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium bar at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 109–245 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707935: “Cookie, lemon bar.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707935, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 small bar” through “1 large bar” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 small barUSDA-listed household measure | 25 g | 109 kcal | 1.3 g | 0.2 g | 56 mg |
| 1 medium barUSDA-listed household measure | 38 g | 166 kcal | 1.9 g | 0.3 g | 85 mg |
| 1 large barUSDA-listed household measure | 56 g | 245 kcal | 2.9 g | 0.4 g | 125 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 83 exact records in the Cookies and brownies USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707935’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half437 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 83 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half5.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 83 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 83 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter224 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 83 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707935’s 38 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A76.4 µg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.4 g
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium85 mg
≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cookie, lemon bar,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707908 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 25 g and 56 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 109 kcal to 245 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.2 g less dietary fiber than “Cookie, bar, with chocolate.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 8 input rows; Sugars, granulated supplies 32.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “lemon bar” fits. Inspect FDC 2707908 when “bar; with chocolate” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “lemon bar”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCookie, lemon bar | 38 g166 kcal | 437 kcal | 5.1 g | 18.9 g | 0.8 g | 224 mg |
| Cookie, bar, with chocolate | 50 g246 kcal | 492 kcal | 5.1 g | 24.7 g | 2 g | 311 mg |
| Cookie, toffee bar | 38 g187 kcal | 492 kcal | 5.1 g | 24.7 g | 2 g | 311 mg |
| Cookie, fig bar | 32 g111 kcal | 348 kcal | 3.7 g | 7.3 g | 4.6 g | 350 mg |
| Cookie, fruit-filled bar | 38 g132 kcal | 348 kcal | 3.7 g | 7.3 g | 4.6 g | 350 mg |
| Cookie, molasses | 60 g258 kcal | 430 kcal | 5.6 g | 12.8 g | 1 g | 459 mg |
| Cookie, animal | 20 g89 kcal | 446 kcal | 6.9 g | 13.8 g | 1.1 g | 335 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707935: its source amount is 38 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707935, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
109 kcal
25 g
166 kcal
38 g
245 kcal
56 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707935, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
28.5 mg≈ 10% Daily ValueTotal fat
7.2 g≈ 9% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
23.8 g≈ 9% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707935’s 38 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 38 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 166 kcal 437 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 1.9 g 5.1 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 23.8 g 62.6 g | 9% 23% |
| Total fat | 7.2 g 18.9 g | 9% 24% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.3 g 0.8 g | 1% 3% |
| Sugars | 16 g 42.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 85.1 mg 224 mg | 4% 10% |
| Saturated fat | 1.4 g 3.8 g | 7% 19% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.3 g 8.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.1 g 5.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 28.5 mg 75 mg | 10% 25% |
| Potassium | 27 mg 71 mg | 1% 2% |
| Calcium | 15.6 mg 41 mg | 1% 3% |
| Iron | 0.7 mg 1.8 mg | 4% 10% |
| Magnesium | 3.8 mg 10 mg | 1% 2% |
| Vitamin C | 1.3 mg 3.5 mg | 1% 4% |
| Vitamin D | 0.5 µg 1.2 µg | 2% 6% |
| Vitamin A | 76.4 µg 201 µg | 8% 22% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 4.7 g 12.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707935, approximate percentages divide the displayed 38 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707935 to 8 source inputs totaling 622.7 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cookie, lemon bar” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Sugars, granulated, Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached, Margarine, stick. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
622.7 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available | 1.12 C | 140.6 g | 22.6% |
| 2 | Sugars, powderedUSDA ingredient 19336 · encyclopedia page available | 0.25 C | 30 g | 4.8% |
| 3 | Margarine, stickUSDA ingredient 81102010 · encyclopedia page available | 113 GM | 112.8 g | 18.1% |
| 4 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 16.1% |
| 5 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 1 C | 200 g | 32.1% |
| 6 | Lemon peel, rawUSDA ingredient 9156 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TB | 6 g | 1% |
| 7 | Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfateUSDA ingredient 18369 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 TS | 2.3 g | 0.4% |
| 8 | Lemon juice, rawUSDA ingredient 9152 · encyclopedia page available | 2 TB | 31 g | 5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707935, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cookies and brownies” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 437 kcal | 492 kcal | −55 kcal |
| Protein | 5.1 g | 5.1 g | +0 g |
| Carbohydrate | 62.6 g | 65.4 g | −2.8 g |
| Total fat | 18.9 g | 24.7 g | −5.8 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g | 2 g | −1.2 g |
| Sodium | 224 mg | 311 mg | −87 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 55 less calories, 5.8 g less total fat, and 1.2 g less dietary fiber than “Cookie, bar, with chocolate.”
Only this record lists Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Sugars, powdered; Margarine, stick; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole. Only the comparison record lists Cookies, chocolate chip, commercially prepared, regular, higher fat, enriched. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Sugars, powdered; Margarine, stick; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; and 4 more.
Listed only in the comparison: Cookies, chocolate chip, commercially prepared, regular, higher fat, enriched.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 38 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium bar (38 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 50 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (50 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707935 with FDC 2707908 at equal mass; use their 38 g and 50 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707935 versus FDC 2707908 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cookies and brownies source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cookie, lemon bar” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707935 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Cookie, lemon bar,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707935 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 437 kcal per 100 g becomes 166 kcal at 38 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium bar has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707935
FNDDS food code: 53224250
The scaling for FDC 2707935 can be exact while the match to “Cookie, lemon bar” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 38 g weight, 8-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.