Energy
upper quarter271 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 134 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 126–156 kcal
Based on 197 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 678 calories for 1 individual pie (250 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 individual pie · 250 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 individual pie · 250 g
678calories
Pot pie, beef
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 678 calories for 1 individual pie at 250 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 271 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 22.3 g protein, 5 g fiber, and 935 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, baked, representing 34.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 individual pie at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 27–3,415 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706630: “Pot pie, beef.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706630, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 pie, any size” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure | 10 g | 27 kcal | 0.9 g | 0.2 g | 37 mg |
| 1 individual pieUSDA-listed household measure | 250 g | 678 kcal | 22.3 g | 5 g | 935 mg |
| 1 pie, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 1,260 g | 3,415 kcal | 112.4 g | 25.2 g | 4,712 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 197 exact records in the Meat mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706630’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter271 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half8.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half374 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706630’s 250 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A302.5 µg
≈ 34% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron4 mg
≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat13.6 g
≈ 68% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium935 mg
≈ 41% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pot pie, beef,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706372 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 10 g and 1,260 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 27 kcal to 3,415 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 21.5 g more carbohydrate than “Guisada, beef.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 7 input rows; Pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, baked supplies 34.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “beef” fits. Inspect FDC 2706372 when “beef” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “beef”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPot pie, beef | 250 g678 kcal | 271 kcal | 8.9 g | 15.4 g | 2 g | 374 mg |
| Beef salad | 136 g355 kcal | 261 kcal | 17.8 g | 19.3 g | 0.4 g | 338 mg |
| Beef wellington | 87 g320 kcal | 368 kcal | 19.2 g | 27.4 g | 0.4 g | 182 mg |
| Beef with gravy | 183 g285 kcal | 156 kcal | 21.6 g | 7.1 g | 0 g | 360 mg |
| Beef stroganoff | 192 g288 kcal | 150 kcal | 10.1 g | 9.3 g | 0.7 g | 458 mg |
| Barbecue beef, with sauce | 180 g410 kcal | 228 kcal | 19.8 g | 10.8 g | 0.3 g | 596 mg |
| Beef burgundy | 183 g271 kcal | 148 kcal | 18.5 g | 6 g | 0.8 g | 369 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706630: its source amount is 250 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706630, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
569 kcal
210 g
678 kcal
250 g
3,415 kcal
1,260 g
542 kcal
200 g
27 kcal
10 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706630, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
13.6 g≈ 68% Daily ValueTotal fat
38.5 g≈ 49% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706630’s 250 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706630 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 22.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2706630 at 250 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 250 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 678 kcal 271 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 22.3 g 8.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 60 g 24 g | 22% 9% |
| Total fat | 38.5 g 15.4 g | 49% 20% |
| Dietary fiber | 5 g 2 g | 18% 7% |
| Sugars | 8.3 g 3.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 935 mg 374 mg | 41% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 13.6 g 5.5 g | 68% 27% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 16.8 g 6.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 4.1 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 55 mg 22 mg | 18% 7% |
| Potassium | 432.5 mg 173 mg | 9% 4% |
| Calcium | 102.5 mg 41 mg | 8% 3% |
| Iron | 4.3 mg 1.7 mg | 24% 10% |
| Magnesium | 40 mg 16 mg | 10% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 3.8 mg 1.5 mg | 4% 2% |
| Vitamin D | 0.8 µg 0.3 µg | 4% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 302.5 µg 121 µg | 34% 13% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 126 g 50.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706630, approximate percentages divide the displayed 250 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706630 to 7 source inputs totaling 100.3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pot pie, beef” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, baked, Beef as ingredient in recipes, White sauce or gravy. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, bakedUSDA ingredient 18335 · encyclopedia page available | 35 GM | 35 g | 34.9% |
| 2 | Beef as ingredient in recipesUSDA ingredient 99992100 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 19.9% |
| 3 | Carrots, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997310 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 10% |
| 4 | Peas, green, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without saltUSDA ingredient 11313 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 10% |
| 5 | White sauce or gravyUSDA ingredient 13411000 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 19.9% |
| 6 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.3 GM | 0.3 g | 0.3% |
| 7 | Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706630, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Meat mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 271 kcal | 115 kcal | +156 kcal |
| Protein | 8.9 g | 10.8 g | −1.9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 24 g | 2.5 g | +21.5 g |
| Total fat | 15.4 g | 6.6 g | +8.8 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2 g | 0.5 g | +1.5 g |
| Sodium | 374 mg | 305 mg | +69 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 156 more calories, 1.9 g less protein, and 21.5 g more carbohydrate than “Guisada, beef.”
Only this record lists Pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, baked; Carrots, cooked, as ingredient; Peas, green, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt; White sauce or gravy. Only the comparison record lists Vegetables as ingredient in stews. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Beef as ingredient in recipes; Salt, table; Beverages, water, tap, drinking.
Listed only in this record: Pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, baked; Carrots, cooked, as ingredient; Peas, green, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt; White sauce or gravy.
Listed only in the comparison: Vegetables as ingredient in stews.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 individual pie (250 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706630 with FDC 2706372 at equal mass; use their 250 g and 255 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706630 versus FDC 2706372 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full meat mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Pot pie, beef” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706630 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, recipe and ingredient ratios, added cooking fat, sauces and toppings.
For “Pot pie, beef,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706630 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 271 kcal per 100 g becomes 678 kcal at 250 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 individual pie has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706630
FNDDS food code: 27317010
The scaling for FDC 2706630 can be exact while the match to “Pot pie, beef” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 250 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.