Energy
lower quarter91 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 154 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 125–177 kcal
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 225 calories for 1 cup (247 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 247 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 247 g
225calories
Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce, canned
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 225 calories for 1 cup at 247 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 91 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 8.6 g protein, 2 g fiber, and 753 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, municipal, representing 70.8% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 11 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 225–387 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708788: “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce, canned.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708788, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 can (15 oz)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 185.3 g | 169 kcal | 6.4 g | 1.5 g | 565 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 247 g | 225 kcal | 8.6 g | 2 g | 753 mg |
| 1 can (15 oz)USDA-listed household measure | 425 g | 387 kcal | 14.8 g | 3.4 g | 1,296 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 169 exact records in the Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708788’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter91 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter3.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half305 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708788’s 247 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber2 g
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium753 mg
≈ 33% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.3 g
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce, canned,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708787 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 247 g and 425 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 225 kcal to 387 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.2 g less total fat than “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 11 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, municipal supplies 70.8% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “cheese-filled; meatless; with tomato sauce; canned” fits. Inspect FDC 2708787 when “cheese-filled; meatless; with tomato sauce” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cheese-filled”, “meatless”, “with tomato sauce”, and “canned”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordTortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce, canned | 247 g225 kcal | 91 kcal | 3.5 g | 1.5 g | 0.8 g | 305 mg |
| Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce | 250 g373 kcal | 149 kcal | 6.2 g | 3.7 g | 1.6 g | 279 mg |
| Tortellini, meat-filled, with tomato sauce, canned | 233 g207 kcal | 89 kcal | 3.2 g | 1.6 g | 1.4 g | 298 mg |
| Ravioli, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, canned | 246 g189 kcal | 77 kcal | 2.5 g | 1.5 g | 1.3 g | 306 mg |
| Manicotti, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless | 235 g360 kcal | 153 kcal | 7.6 g | 6.6 g | 0.9 g | 436 mg |
| Manicotti, vegetable- and cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless | 235 g317 kcal | 135 kcal | 6.4 g | 5.2 g | 1 g | 394 mg |
| Ravioli, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce | 250 g245 kcal | 98 kcal | 4 g | 2.3 g | 1.2 g | 246 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708788: its source amount is 247 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708788, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
225 kcal
247 g
387 kcal
425 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708788, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
753.4 mg≈ 33% Daily ValueCholesterol
44.5 mg≈ 15% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708788’s 247 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708788 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 8.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708788 at 247 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 247 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 225 kcal 91 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 8.6 g 3.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 39.5 g 16 g | 14% 6% |
| Total fat | 3.7 g 1.5 g | 5% 2% |
| Dietary fiber | 2 g 0.8 g | 7% 3% |
| Sugars | 4.3 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 753.4 mg 305 mg | 33% 13% |
| Saturated fat | 1.3 g 0.5 g | 7% 3% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1 g 0.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.8 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 44.5 mg 18 mg | 15% 6% |
| Potassium | 96.3 mg 39 mg | 2% 1% |
| Calcium | 66.7 mg 27 mg | 5% 2% |
| Iron | 1.6 mg 0.7 mg | 9% 4% |
| Magnesium | 29.6 mg 12 mg | 7% 3% |
| Vitamin C | 1.5 mg 0.6 mg | 2% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 22.2 µg 9 µg | 2% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 192.4 g 77.9 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708788, approximate percentages divide the displayed 247 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708788 to 11 source inputs totaling 99.7 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce, canned” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, municipal, Noodles, egg, dry, enriched, Cheese, ricotta, part skim milk. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
99.7 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Beverages, water, tap, municipalUSDA ingredient 14429 · encyclopedia page available | 70.6 GM | 70.6 g | 70.8% |
| 2 | Noodles, egg, dry, enrichedUSDA ingredient 20109 | 19.8 GM | 19.8 g | 19.9% |
| 3 | Cheese, ricotta, part skim milkUSDA ingredient 1037 | 1.4 GM | 1.4 g | 1.4% |
| 4 | Cheese, parmesan, gratedUSDA ingredient 1032 · encyclopedia page available | 1.4 GM | 1.4 g | 1.4% |
| 5 | Tomato products, canned, paste, without salt added (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 11546 · encyclopedia page available | 1.4 GM | 1.4 g | 1.4% |
| 6 | Tomatoes, red, ripe, canned, packed in tomato juiceUSDA ingredient 11531 · encyclopedia page available | 1.4 GM | 1.4 g | 1.4% |
| 7 | Syrups, corn, lightUSDA ingredient 19350 · encyclopedia page available | 1.4 GM | 1.4 g | 1.4% |
| 8 | Onions, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997510 · encyclopedia page available | 1.4 GM | 1.4 g | 1.4% |
| 9 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.7 GM | 0.7 g | 0.7% |
| 10 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 0.1 GM | 0.1 g | 0.1% |
| 11 | Garlic, rawUSDA ingredient 11215 · encyclopedia page available | 0.1 GM | 0.1 g | 0.1% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708788, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 91 kcal | 149 kcal | −58 kcal |
| Protein | 3.5 g | 6.2 g | −2.7 g |
| Carbohydrate | 16 g | 23 g | −7 g |
| Total fat | 1.5 g | 3.7 g | −2.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g | 1.6 g | −0.8 g |
| Sodium | 305 mg | 279 mg | +26 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 58 less calories, 2.7 g less protein, and 7 g less carbohydrate than “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce.”
Only this record lists Beverages, water, tap, municipal; Noodles, egg, dry, enriched; Cheese, ricotta, part skim milk; Cheese, parmesan, grated. Only the comparison record lists Tortellini, cheese-filled, no sauce; Sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serve. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Beverages, water, tap, municipal; Noodles, egg, dry, enriched; Cheese, ricotta, part skim milk; Cheese, parmesan, grated; and 7 more.
Listed only in the comparison: Tortellini, cheese-filled, no sauce; Sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serve.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 247 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (247 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708788 with FDC 2708787 at equal mass; use their 247 g and 250 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708788 versus FDC 2708787 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce, canned” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708788 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce, canned,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708788 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 91 kcal per 100 g becomes 225 kcal at 247 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708788
FNDDS food code: 58134623
The scaling for FDC 2708788 can be exact while the match to “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce, canned” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 247 g weight, 11-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.