Energy
middle half153 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 154 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 125–177 kcal
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 360 calories for 1 cup (235 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 235 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 235 g
360calories
Manicotti, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 360 calories for 1 cup at 235 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 153 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 17.9 g protein, 2.1 g fiber, and 1,025 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is tomato products, canned, sauce, representing 26.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 13 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 219–360 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708776: “Manicotti, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708776, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 manicotti” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 manicottiUSDA-listed household measure | 143 g | 219 kcal | 10.9 g | 1.3 g | 623 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 176.3 g | 270 kcal | 13.4 g | 1.6 g | 768 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 235 g | 360 kcal | 17.9 g | 2.1 g | 1,025 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 169 exact records in the Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708776’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half153 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter7.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter436 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708776’s 235 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium345 mg
≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A183.3 µg
≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium1,025 mg
≈ 45% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat8.3 g
≈ 41% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Manicotti, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708778 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 143 g and 235 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 219 kcal to 360 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.4 g more total fat than “Manicotti, vegetable- and cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 13 input rows; Tomato products, canned, sauce supplies 26.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “cheese-filled; with tomato sauce; meatless” fits. Inspect FDC 2708778 when “vegetable- and cheese-filled; with tomato sauce; meatless” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cheese-filled”, “with tomato sauce”, and “meatless”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordManicotti, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless | 235 g360 kcal | 153 kcal | 7.6 g | 6.6 g | 0.9 g | 436 mg |
| Manicotti, vegetable- and cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless | 235 g317 kcal | 135 kcal | 6.4 g | 5.2 g | 1 g | 394 mg |
| Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce | 250 g373 kcal | 149 kcal | 6.2 g | 3.7 g | 1.6 g | 279 mg |
| Stuffed shells, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless | 170 g248 kcal | 146 kcal | 7 g | 5.8 g | 0.9 g | 422 mg |
| Manicotti, cheese-filled, no sauce | 209 g433 kcal | 207 kcal | 10.4 g | 9.3 g | 0.6 g | 443 mg |
| Manicotti, cheese-filled, with meat sauce | 235 g376 kcal | 160 kcal | 8.8 g | 7.3 g | 0.8 g | 432 mg |
| Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce, canned | 247 g225 kcal | 91 kcal | 3.5 g | 1.5 g | 0.8 g | 305 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708776: its source amount is 235 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708776, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
219 kcal
143 g
360 kcal
235 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708776, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
1,024.6 mg≈ 45% Daily ValueCholesterol
131.6 mg≈ 44% Daily ValueSaturated fat
8.3 g≈ 41% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708776’s 235 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708776 at 235 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 235 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 360 kcal 153 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 17.9 g 7.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 38.1 g 16.2 g | 14% 6% |
| Total fat | 15.5 g 6.6 g | 20% 8% |
| Dietary fiber | 2.1 g 0.9 g | 8% 3% |
| Sugars | 3.9 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 1,024.6 mg 436 mg | 45% 19% |
| Saturated fat | 8.3 g 3.5 g | 41% 18% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.8 g 1.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.2 g 0.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 131.6 mg 56 mg | 44% 19% |
| Potassium | 453.6 mg 193 mg | 10% 4% |
| Calcium | 345.5 mg 147 mg | 27% 11% |
| Iron | 3.1 mg 1.3 mg | 17% 7% |
| Magnesium | 42.3 mg 18 mg | 10% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 4.5 mg 1.9 mg | 5% 2% |
| Vitamin D | 0.9 µg 0.4 µg | 5% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 183.3 µg 78 µg | 20% 9% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 158.9 g 67.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708776, approximate percentages divide the displayed 235 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708776 to 13 source inputs totaling 1,713.9 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Manicotti, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Tomato products, canned, sauce, Cheese, ricotta, whole milk, Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
1,713.9 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cheese, parmesan, gratedUSDA ingredient 1032 · encyclopedia page available | 1 C | 100 g | 5.8% |
| 2 | Cheese, mozzarella, low moisture, part-skimUSDA ingredient 1029 · encyclopedia page available | 56 GM | 56 g | 3.3% |
| 3 | Cheese, ricotta, whole milkUSDA ingredient 1036 · encyclopedia page available | 1.75 C | 430.5 g | 25.1% |
| 4 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 150 GM | 150 g | 8.8% |
| 5 | White sauce or gravyUSDA ingredient 13411000 · encyclopedia page available | 0.25 C | 60 g | 3.5% |
| 6 | Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available | 2 C | 250 g | 14.6% |
| 7 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TS | 6 g | 0.4% |
| 8 | Beverages, water, tap, municipalUSDA ingredient 14429 · encyclopedia page available | 3 TB | 44.4 g | 2.6% |
| 9 | Onions, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997510 · encyclopedia page available | 40 GM | 40 g | 2.3% |
| 10 | Tomato products, canned, sauceUSDA ingredient 11549 · encyclopedia page available | 16 WO | 453.6 g | 26.5% |
| 11 | Beverages, water, tap, municipalUSDA ingredient 14429 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 C | 118.5 g | 6.9% |
| 12 | Spices, basil, driedUSDA ingredient 2003 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TS | 0.7 g | 0% |
| 13 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TS | 4.2 g | 0.2% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708776, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 153 kcal | 135 kcal | +18 kcal |
| Protein | 7.6 g | 6.4 g | +1.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 16.2 g | 15.9 g | +0.3 g |
| Total fat | 6.6 g | 5.2 g | +1.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.9 g | 1 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 436 mg | 394 mg | +42 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 18 more calories, 1.2 g more protein, and 1.4 g more total fat than “Manicotti, vegetable- and cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless.”
Only this record lists Cheese, mozzarella, low moisture, part-skim. Only the comparison record lists Spinach, cooked, as ingredient. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Cheese, parmesan, grated; Cheese, ricotta, whole milk; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; White sauce or gravy; and 7 more.
Listed only in this record: Cheese, mozzarella, low moisture, part-skim.
Listed only in the comparison: Spinach, cooked, as ingredient.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 235 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (235 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 235 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 manicotti (143 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708776 with FDC 2708778 at equal mass; use their 235 g and 235 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708776 versus FDC 2708778 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Manicotti, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708776 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Manicotti, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708776 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 153 kcal per 100 g becomes 360 kcal at 235 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708776
FNDDS food code: 58133120
The scaling for FDC 2708776 can be exact while the match to “Manicotti, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 235 g weight, 13-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.