Fish & seafoodmoderate variability

Crab, cake calories: 182 per 1 cake or patty (85 g)

This exact USDA record reports 182 calories for 1 cake or patty (85 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cake or patty · 85 g

Calories
182 kcal
Protein
12.2 g
Carbohydrate
3.8 g
Total fat
12.8 g
Fiber
0.3 g
Sodium
366 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cake or patty · 85 g

182calories

Crab, cake

Protein
12.2 g
Carbs
3.8 g
Fat
12.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706549

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 182 calories for 1 cake or patty at 85 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 214 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 12.2 g protein, 0.3 g fiber, and 366 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is crustaceans, crab, blue, cooked, moist heat, representing 64.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cake or patty at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706549: “Crab, cake.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706549, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 63.8 g 136 kcal 9.2 g 0.2 g 274 mg
1 cake or pattyUSDA-listed household measure 85 g 182 kcal 12.2 g 0.3 g 366 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 106.3 g 227 kcal 15.3 g 0.3 g 457 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Seafood mixed dishes

The comparison set contains 94 exact records in the Seafood mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706549’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

214 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
134 kcal
Middle 50%
101–170 kcal

Based on 94 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

14.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.3 g
Middle 50%
7.1–10.7 g

Based on 94 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

0.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.7 g
Middle 50%
0.4–1 g

Based on 94 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

430 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
347 mg
Middle 50%
268–453 mg

Based on 94 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706549’s 85 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Magnesium25 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium67 mg

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium366 mg

≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat2.1 g

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Crab, cake,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706560 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 85 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 63.8–106.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 136 kcal and 227 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2706560

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 58 mg more sodium than “Tuna cake or patty.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Crustaceans, crab, blue, cooked, moist heat

    The source formulation has 7 input rows; Crustaceans, crab, blue, cooked, moist heat supplies 64.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “cake” fits. Inspect FDC 2706560 when the exact wording “Tuna cake or patty” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Crab, cake

Exact source wording
“Crab, cake”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706549 · FNDDS 27250040
Named qualifiers
cake
Source inputs unique in this pair
Crustaceans, crab, blue, cooked, moist heat

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Tuna cake or patty

Exact source wording
“Tuna cake or patty”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706560 · FNDDS 27250160
Source inputs unique in this pair
Fish, tuna, light, canned in water, drained solids

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cake”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCrab, cake 85 g182 kcal 214 kcal 14.4 g 15 g 0.3 g 430 mg
Crab salad 104 g196 kcal 188 kcal 9.4 g 15.9 g 0.4 g 462 mg
Fish, cake or patty 85 g180 kcal 212 kcal 13.6 g 12.6 g 1.2 g 429 mg
Shrimp, cake or patty 85 g185 kcal 218 kcal 13.9 g 15.3 g 0.3 g 329 mg
Tuna cake or patty 120 g247 kcal 206 kcal 15.3 g 14.9 g 0.2 g 372 mg
Clam cake or patty 120 g295 kcal 246 kcal 19 g 15.4 g 0.2 g 408 mg
Shrimp with crab stuffing 70 g122 kcal 174 kcal 16.4 g 9 g 0.3 g 537 mg

How to compare FDC 2706549: its source amount is 85 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706549, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cake or patty

182 kcal

85 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706549, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

96.9 mg≈ 32% Daily Value

Total fat

12.8 g≈ 16% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706549’s 85 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706549 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 12.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706549 at 85 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 366 mg sodium, about 16% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 85 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 182 kcal Not established
Protein 12.2 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 3.8 g 1%
Total fat 12.8 g 16%
Dietary fiber 0.3 g 1%
Sugars 0.6 g Not established
Sodium 365.5 mg 16%
Saturated fat 2.1 g 11%
Monounsaturated Fat 3.8 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 6.1 g Not established
Cholesterol 96.9 mg 32%
Potassium 180.2 mg 4%
Calcium 67.2 mg 5%
Iron 0.7 mg 4%
Magnesium 24.7 mg 6%
Vitamin C 2.1 mg 2%
Vitamin D 0.3 µg 1%
Vitamin A 17.9 µg 2%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 54.7 g Not established

For FDC 2706549, approximate percentages divide the displayed 85 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706549 to 7 source inputs totaling 100.1 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Crab, cake” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

7 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Crustaceans, crab, blue, cooked, moist heat, Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole, Salad dressing, mayonnaise, regular. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.1 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Crustaceans, crab, blue, cooked, moist heatUSDA ingredient 15140 · encyclopedia page available 65 GM 65 g 64.9%
2 Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 10%
3 Onions, cooked, boiled, drained, without saltUSDA ingredient 11283 · encyclopedia page available 5 GM 5 g 5%
4 Salad dressing, mayonnaise, regularUSDA ingredient 4025 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 10%
5 Bread, crumbs, dry, grated, plainUSDA ingredient 18079 · encyclopedia page available 5 GM 5 g 5%
6 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.1 GM 0.1 g 0.1%
7 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 5 GM 5 g 5%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706549, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Seafood mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories214 kcal206 kcal+8 kcal
Protein14.4 g15.3 g−0.9 g
Carbohydrate4.5 g2.7 g+1.8 g
Total fat15 g14.9 g+0.1 g
Dietary fiber0.3 g0.2 g+0.1 g
Sodium430 mg372 mg+58 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 58 mg more sodium than “Tuna cake or patty.”

Only this record lists Crustaceans, crab, blue, cooked, moist heat. Only the comparison record lists Fish, tuna, light, canned in water, drained solids. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Onions, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt; Salad dressing, mayonnaise, regular; Bread, crumbs, dry, grated, plain; and 2 more.

Listed only in this record: Crustaceans, crab, blue, cooked, moist heat.

Listed only in the comparison: Fish, tuna, light, canned in water, drained solids.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 85 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake or patty (85 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 120 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake or patty (120 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706549 with FDC 2706560 at equal mass; use their 85 g and 120 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706549 versus FDC 2706560 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full seafood mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, species or cut, cooking method, breading, butter, or sauce.

For “Crab, cake,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    species or cut

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    breading, butter, or sauce

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706549 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 214 kcal per 100 g becomes 182 kcal at 85 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cake or patty has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706549

FNDDS food code: 27250040

The scaling for FDC 2706549 can be exact while the match to “Crab, cake” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 85 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.