Energy
upper quarter218 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 134 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 101–170 kcal
Based on 94 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 185 calories for 1 cake or patty (85 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cake or patty · 85 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cake or patty · 85 g
185calories
Shrimp, cake or patty
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 185 calories for 1 cake or patty at 85 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 218 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 11.8 g protein, 0.3 g fiber, and 280 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is shrimp, steamed or boiled, representing 64.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cake or patty at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706565: “Shrimp, cake or patty.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706565, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 63.8 g | 139 kcal | 8.9 g | 0.2 g | 210 mg |
| 1 cake or pattyUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 185 kcal | 11.8 g | 0.3 g | 280 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 106.3 g | 232 kcal | 14.8 g | 0.3 g | 350 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 94 exact records in the Seafood mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706565’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter218 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 94 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter13.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 94 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 94 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half329 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 94 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706565’s 85 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A55.3 µg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium280 mg
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.2 g
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Shrimp, cake or patty,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706560 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 63.8–106.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 139 kcal and 232 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.6 g more carbohydrate than “Tuna cake or patty.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 7 input rows; Shrimp, steamed or boiled supplies 64.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “cake or patty” fits. Inspect FDC 2706560 when the exact wording “Tuna cake or patty” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cake or patty”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordShrimp, cake or patty | 85 g185 kcal | 218 kcal | 13.9 g | 15.3 g | 0.3 g | 329 mg |
| Fish, cake or patty | 85 g180 kcal | 212 kcal | 13.6 g | 12.6 g | 1.2 g | 429 mg |
| Tuna cake or patty | 120 g247 kcal | 206 kcal | 15.3 g | 14.9 g | 0.2 g | 372 mg |
| Clam cake or patty | 120 g295 kcal | 246 kcal | 19 g | 15.4 g | 0.2 g | 408 mg |
| Fish, salmon cake or patty | 85 g242 kcal | 285 kcal | 16.1 g | 22.1 g | 0.3 g | 404 mg |
| Crab, cake | 85 g182 kcal | 214 kcal | 14.4 g | 15 g | 0.3 g | 430 mg |
| Shrimp toast | 48 g107 kcal | 222 kcal | 8.5 g | 15.4 g | 0.8 g | 558 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706565: its source amount is 85 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706565, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
185 kcal
85 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706565, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
132.6 mg≈ 44% Daily ValueTotal fat
13 g≈ 17% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706565’s 85 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706565 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 11.8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706565 at 85 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 85 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 185 kcal 218 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 11.8 g 13.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 4.5 g 5.3 g | 2% 2% |
| Total fat | 13 g 15.3 g | 17% 20% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.3 g 0.3 g | 1% 1% |
| Sugars | 0.6 g 0.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 279.7 mg 329 mg | 12% 14% |
| Saturated fat | 2.2 g 2.6 g | 11% 13% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.9 g 4.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 6.2 g 7.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 132.6 mg 156 mg | 44% 52% |
| Potassium | 113.1 mg 133 mg | 2% 3% |
| Calcium | 53.6 mg 63 mg | 4% 5% |
| Iron | 0.6 mg 0.7 mg | 3% 4% |
| Magnesium | 19.6 mg 23 mg | 5% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0.2 mg 0.2 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.3 µg 0.4 µg | 2% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 55.3 µg 65 µg | 6% 7% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 54 g 63.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706565, approximate percentages divide the displayed 85 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706565 to 7 source inputs totaling 100.1 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Shrimp, cake or patty” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Shrimp, steamed or boiled, Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole, Salad dressing, mayonnaise, regular. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.1 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Shrimp, steamed or boiledUSDA ingredient 26319130 · encyclopedia page available | 65 GM | 65 g | 64.9% |
| 2 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 10% |
| 3 | Onions, cooked, boiled, drained, without saltUSDA ingredient 11283 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 5% |
| 4 | Salad dressing, mayonnaise, regularUSDA ingredient 4025 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 10% |
| 5 | Bread, crumbs, dry, grated, plainUSDA ingredient 18079 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 5% |
| 6 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.1 GM | 0.1 g | 0.1% |
| 7 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706565, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Seafood mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 218 kcal | 206 kcal | +12 kcal |
| Protein | 13.9 g | 15.3 g | −1.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 5.3 g | 2.7 g | +2.6 g |
| Total fat | 15.3 g | 14.9 g | +0.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.3 g | 0.2 g | +0.1 g |
| Sodium | 329 mg | 372 mg | −43 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 12 more calories and 2.6 g more carbohydrate than “Tuna cake or patty.”
Only this record lists Shrimp, steamed or boiled. Only the comparison record lists Fish, tuna, light, canned in water, drained solids. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Onions, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt; Salad dressing, mayonnaise, regular; Bread, crumbs, dry, grated, plain; and 2 more.
Listed only in this record: Shrimp, steamed or boiled.
Listed only in the comparison: Fish, tuna, light, canned in water, drained solids.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 85 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake or patty (85 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 120 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake or patty (120 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706565 with FDC 2706560 at equal mass; use their 85 g and 120 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706565 versus FDC 2706560 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full seafood mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Shrimp, cake or patty” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706565 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, species or cut, cooking method, breading, butter, or sauce.
For “Shrimp, cake or patty,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706565 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 218 kcal per 100 g becomes 185 kcal at 85 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cake or patty has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706565
FNDDS food code: 27250400
The scaling for FDC 2706565 can be exact while the match to “Shrimp, cake or patty” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 85 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.