Energy
upper quarter255 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 133 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 122–156 kcal
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 638 calories for 1 individual pie (250 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 individual pie · 250 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 individual pie · 250 g
638calories
Pot pie, chicken
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 638 calories for 1 individual pie at 250 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 255 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 23.1 g protein, 5 g fiber, and 938 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, baked, representing 34.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 individual pie at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 26–3,213 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706703: “Pot pie, chicken.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706703, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 pie, any size” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure | 10 g | 26 kcal | 0.9 g | 0.2 g | 38 mg |
| 1 individual pieUSDA-listed household measure | 250 g | 638 kcal | 23.1 g | 5 g | 938 mg |
| 1 pie, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 1,260 g | 3,213 kcal | 116.4 g | 25.2 g | 4,725 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 130 exact records in the Poultry mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706703’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter255 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half9.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half375 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706703’s 250 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A307.5 µg
≈ 34% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron3 mg
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat11.5 g
≈ 58% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium938 mg
≈ 41% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pot pie, chicken,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706678 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 10 g and 1,260 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 26 kcal to 3,213 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 11.2 g more total fat than “Stew, chicken.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 7 input rows; Pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, baked supplies 34.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “chicken” fits. Inspect FDC 2706678 when “chicken” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chicken”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPot pie, chicken | 250 g638 kcal | 255 kcal | 9.2 g | 13.5 g | 2 g | 375 mg |
| Chicken kiev | 258 g722 kcal | 280 kcal | 21.3 g | 19.2 g | 0.1 g | 644 mg |
| Barbecue chicken | 180 g301 kcal | 167 kcal | 19 g | 4.6 g | 0.3 g | 550 mg |
| Chicken cornbread | 92 g154 kcal | 167 kcal | 13.8 g | 8.2 g | 0.4 g | 458 mg |
| Chicken with gravy | 244 g315 kcal | 129 kcal | 18.9 g | 5.2 g | 0 g | 526 mg |
| Chicken curry | 240 g257 kcal | 107 kcal | 6.5 g | 6.5 g | 1.4 g | 376 mg |
| Chicken or turkey cake, patty, or croquette | 140 g367 kcal | 262 kcal | 20.8 g | 18.8 g | 0.2 g | 575 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706703: its source amount is 250 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706703, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
536 kcal
210 g
638 kcal
250 g
3,213 kcal
1,260 g
510 kcal
200 g
26 kcal
10 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706703, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
11.5 g≈ 58% Daily ValueTotal fat
33.8 g≈ 43% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706703’s 250 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706703 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 23.1 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2706703 at 250 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 250 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 638 kcal 255 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 23.1 g 9.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 60 g 24 g | 22% 9% |
| Total fat | 33.8 g 13.5 g | 43% 17% |
| Dietary fiber | 5 g 2 g | 18% 7% |
| Sugars | 8.3 g 3.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 937.5 mg 375 mg | 41% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 11.5 g 4.6 g | 57% 23% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 14.6 g 5.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 4.6 g 1.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 72.5 mg 29 mg | 24% 10% |
| Potassium | 427.5 mg 171 mg | 9% 4% |
| Calcium | 97.5 mg 39 mg | 8% 3% |
| Iron | 3.4 mg 1.4 mg | 19% 8% |
| Magnesium | 45 mg 18 mg | 11% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 3.8 mg 1.5 mg | 4% 2% |
| Vitamin D | 0.8 µg 0.3 µg | 4% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 307.5 µg 123 µg | 34% 14% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 130.3 g 52.1 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706703, approximate percentages divide the displayed 250 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706703 to 7 source inputs totaling 100.3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pot pie, chicken” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, baked, Chicken as ingredient in recipes, White sauce or gravy. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, bakedUSDA ingredient 18335 · encyclopedia page available | 35 GM | 35 g | 34.9% |
| 2 | Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 5% |
| 3 | Chicken as ingredient in recipesUSDA ingredient 99992405 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 19.9% |
| 4 | Carrots, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997310 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 10% |
| 5 | Peas, green, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without saltUSDA ingredient 11313 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 10% |
| 6 | White sauce or gravyUSDA ingredient 13411000 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 19.9% |
| 7 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.3 GM | 0.3 g | 0.3% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706703, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Poultry mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 255 kcal | 84 kcal | +171 kcal |
| Protein | 9.2 g | 9.2 g | Same listed value |
| Carbohydrate | 24 g | 6.3 g | +17.7 g |
| Total fat | 13.5 g | 2.3 g | +11.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2 g | 1.3 g | +0.7 g |
| Sodium | 375 mg | 309 mg | +66 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 171 more calories, 17.7 g more carbohydrate, and 11.2 g more total fat than “Stew, chicken.”
Only this record lists Pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, baked; Carrots, cooked, as ingredient; Peas, green, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt; White sauce or gravy. Only the comparison record lists Vegetables as ingredient in stews. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Chicken as ingredient in recipes; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, baked; Carrots, cooked, as ingredient; Peas, green, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt; White sauce or gravy.
Listed only in the comparison: Vegetables as ingredient in stews.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 individual pie (250 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706703 with FDC 2706678 at equal mass; use their 250 g and 255 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706703 versus FDC 2706678 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full poultry mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Pot pie, chicken” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706703 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Pot pie, chicken,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706703 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 255 kcal per 100 g becomes 638 kcal at 250 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 individual pie has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706703
FNDDS food code: 27347100
The scaling for FDC 2706703 can be exact while the match to “Pot pie, chicken” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 250 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.