Pasta, rice & grainsmoderate variability

Cake with glutinous rice calories: 79 per 1 oz (28 g)

This exact USDA record reports 79 calories for 1 oz (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Cake made with glutinous rice

Quick facts

1 oz · 28 g

Calories
79 kcal
Protein
0.7 g
Carbohydrate
15.2 g
Total fat
1.8 g
Fiber
0.2 g
Sodium
10 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 oz · 28.4 g

79calories

Cake made with glutinous rice

Protein
0.7 g
Carbs
15.2 g
Fat
1.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708345

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 79 calories for 1 oz at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 279 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 0.7 g protein, 0.2 g fiber, and 10 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is sugars, granulated, representing 26.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 oz at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708345: “Cake made with glutinous rice.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708345, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 21.3 g 59 kcal 0.5 g 0.1 g 8 mg
1 ozUSDA-listed household measure 28.4 g 79 kcal 0.7 g 0.2 g 10 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 35.5 g 99 kcal 0.9 g 0.2 g 13 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Rice mixed dishes

The comparison set contains 99 exact records in the Rice mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708345’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

279 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
117 kcal
Middle 50%
106–138 kcal

Based on 99 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

2.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.7 g
Middle 50%
2.3–4 g

Based on 99 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

0.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.1 g
Middle 50%
0.8–1.7 g

Based on 99 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

36 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
199 mg
Middle 50%
176–287 mg

Based on 99 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708345’s 28 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat1.6 g

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium10 mg

≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cake made with glutinous rice,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708348 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 28 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 21.3–35.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 59 kcal and 99 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708348

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 906 mg less sodium than “Cake made with glutinous rice and dried beans.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Sugars, granulated

    The source formulation has 6 input rows; Sugars, granulated supplies 26.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when the exact wording “Cake made with glutinous rice” fits. Inspect FDC 2708348 when the exact wording “Cake made with glutinous rice and dried beans” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cake made with glutinous rice

Exact source wording
“Cake made with glutinous rice”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708345 · FNDDS 55701000
Source inputs unique in this pair
Flour, rice, white, unenriched · Beverages, water, tap, drinking · Sugars, granulated

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cake made with glutinous rice and dried beans

Exact source wording
“Cake made with glutinous rice and dried beans”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708348 · FNDDS 55703000
Source inputs unique in this pair
Rice, white, glutinous, unenriched, cooked · Salt, table · Beans, black, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCake made with glutinous rice 28 g79 kcal 279 kcal 2.5 g 6.5 g 0.7 g 36 mg
Cake made with glutinous rice and dried beans 16 g30 kcal 185 kcal 7.8 g 0.6 g 3.4 g 942 mg
Rice, cooked with coconut milk 150 g401 kcal 267 kcal 3.6 g 17.2 g 1.9 g 182 mg
Rice with squid, Puerto Rican style 120 g317 kcal 264 kcal 8.9 g 11.8 g 0.8 g 559 mg
Rice with vienna sausage, Puerto Rican style 112 g301 kcal 269 kcal 6.5 g 11.6 g 0.8 g 959 mg
Rice with Spanish sausage, Puerto Rican style 112 g324 kcal 289 kcal 8.4 g 13.6 g 0.8 g 943 mg
Rice with raisins 139 g225 kcal 162 kcal 2.7 g 2.6 g 0.8 g 447 mg

How to compare FDC 2708345: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708345, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 oz

79 kcal

28 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708345, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

1.6 g≈ 8% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

15.2 g≈ 6% Daily Value

Total fat

1.8 g≈ 2% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708345’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 79 kcal Not established
Protein 0.7 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 15.2 g 6%
Total fat 1.8 g 2%
Dietary fiber 0.2 g 1%
Sugars 8.8 g Not established
Sodium 10.2 mg 0%
Saturated fat 1.6 g 8%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 24.1 mg 1%
Calcium 6.5 mg 1%
Iron 0.1 mg 1%
Magnesium 4.5 mg 1%
Vitamin C 0.1 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 10.5 g Not established

For FDC 2708345, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708345 to 6 source inputs totaling 1,856.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cake made with glutinous rice” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

6 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Sugars, granulated, Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Flour, rice, white, unenriched. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

1,856.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Flour, rice, white, unenrichedUSDA ingredient 20061 · encyclopedia page available 1 LB 453.6 g 24.4%
2 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 2 C 474 g 25.5%
3 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 2.5 C 500 g 26.9%
4 Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfateUSDA ingredient 18369 · encyclopedia page available 1 TS 4.6 g 0.2%
5 Vanilla extract, imitation, no alcoholUSDA ingredient 2052 · encyclopedia page available 1 TS 4.3 g 0.2%
6 Nuts, coconut milk, raw (liquid expressed from grated meat and water)USDA ingredient 12117 · encyclopedia page available 14 FO 420 g 22.6%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708345, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Rice mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories279 kcal185 kcal+94 kcal
Protein2.5 g7.8 g−5.3 g
Carbohydrate53.6 g36.1 g+17.5 g
Total fat6.5 g0.6 g+5.9 g
Dietary fiber0.7 g3.4 g−2.7 g
Sodium36 mg942 mg−906 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 94 more calories, 5.3 g less protein, and 17.5 g more carbohydrate than “Cake made with glutinous rice and dried beans.”

Only this record lists Flour, rice, white, unenriched; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Sugars, granulated; Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate. Only the comparison record lists Rice, white, glutinous, unenriched, cooked; Salt, table; Beans, black, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt; Flour, soy, defatted. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Flour, rice, white, unenriched; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Sugars, granulated; Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; and 2 more.

Listed only in the comparison: Rice, white, glutinous, unenriched, cooked; Salt, table; Beans, black, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt; Flour, soy, defatted; and 1 more.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 oz (28 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 16 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 piece (16 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708345 with FDC 2708348 at equal mass; use their 28 g and 16 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708345 versus FDC 2708348 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full rice mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.

For “Cake made with glutinous rice,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cooked-to-dry ratio

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  3. 03

    sauce or mix-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708345 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 279 kcal per 100 g becomes 79 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 oz has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708345

FNDDS food code: 55701000

The scaling for FDC 2708345 can be exact while the match to “Cake made with glutinous rice” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.