Energy
upper quarter193 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 154 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 125–177 kcal
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 326 calories for 1 cup (169 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 169 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 169 g
326calories
Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with vinaigrette dressing
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 326 calories for 1 cup at 169 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 193 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 10.5 g protein, 1 g fiber, and 1,080 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cheese, ricotta, whole milk, representing 31% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 9 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708789: “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with vinaigrette dressing.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708789, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 126.8 g | 245 kcal | 7.9 g | 0.8 g | 810 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 169 g | 326 kcal | 10.5 g | 1 g | 1,080 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 211.3 g | 408 kcal | 13.2 g | 1.3 g | 1,350 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 169 exact records in the Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708789’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter193 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half6.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter639 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708789’s 169 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A106.5 µg
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium1,080 mg
≈ 47% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat6.1 g
≈ 30% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with vinaigrette dressing,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708791 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 126.8–211.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 245 kcal and 408 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.4 g more total fat than “Tortellini, cheese-filled, with cream sauce.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 9 input rows; Cheese, ricotta, whole milk supplies 31% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “cheese-filled; meatless; with vinaigrette dressing” fits. Inspect FDC 2708791 when “cheese-filled; with cream sauce” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cheese-filled”, “meatless”, and “with vinaigrette dressing”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordTortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with vinaigrette dressing | 169 g326 kcal | 193 kcal | 6.2 g | 10.4 g | 0.6 g | 639 mg |
| Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce | 250 g373 kcal | 149 kcal | 6.2 g | 3.7 g | 1.6 g | 279 mg |
| Tortellini, cheese-filled, no sauce | 150 g354 kcal | 236 kcal | 10.4 g | 5.6 g | 1.5 g | 156 mg |
| Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with tomato sauce, canned | 247 g225 kcal | 91 kcal | 3.5 g | 1.5 g | 0.8 g | 305 mg |
| Tortellini, cheese-filled, with cream sauce | 250 g383 kcal | 153 kcal | 5.8 g | 7 g | 0.5 g | 576 mg |
| Manicotti, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, meatless | 235 g360 kcal | 153 kcal | 7.6 g | 6.6 g | 0.9 g | 436 mg |
| Tortellini, meat-filled, no sauce | 190 g361 kcal | 190 kcal | 12.3 g | 7.5 g | 0.6 g | 434 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708789: its source amount is 169 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708789, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
326 kcal
169 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708789, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
1,079.9 mg≈ 47% Daily ValueCholesterol
133.5 mg≈ 45% Daily ValueSaturated fat
6.1 g≈ 30% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708789’s 169 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708789 at 169 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 169 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 326 kcal 193 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 10.5 g 6.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 31.8 g 18.8 g | 12% 7% |
| Total fat | 17.6 g 10.4 g | 23% 13% |
| Dietary fiber | 1 g 0.6 g | 4% 2% |
| Sugars | 0.9 g 0.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 1,079.9 mg 639 mg | 47% 28% |
| Saturated fat | 6.1 g 3.6 g | 30% 18% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5 g 3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 5 g 3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 133.5 mg 79 mg | 45% 26% |
| Potassium | 191 mg 113 mg | 4% 2% |
| Calcium | 142 mg 84 mg | 11% 6% |
| Iron | 2.4 mg 1.4 mg | 13% 8% |
| Magnesium | 22 mg 13 mg | 5% 3% |
| Vitamin C | 0.3 mg 0.2 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.7 µg 0.4 µg | 3% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 106.5 µg 63 µg | 12% 7% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 105.5 g 62.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708789, approximate percentages divide the displayed 169 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708789 to 9 source inputs totaling 528.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with vinaigrette dressing” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Cheese, ricotta, whole milk, Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached, Beverages, water, tap, municipal. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
528.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 9.5% |
| 2 | Beverages, water, tap, municipalUSDA ingredient 14429 · encyclopedia page available | 75 GM | 75 g | 14.2% |
| 3 | Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available | 1 C | 125 g | 23.6% |
| 4 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1.5 TS | 9 g | 1.7% |
| 5 | Cheese, ricotta, whole milkUSDA ingredient 1036 · encyclopedia page available | 0.67 C | 164.1 g | 31% |
| 6 | Onions, rawUSDA ingredient 11282 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 3.8% |
| 7 | Cheese, parmesan, gratedUSDA ingredient 1032 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TB | 6.3 g | 1.2% |
| 8 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg yolkUSDA ingredient 1125 · encyclopedia page available | 17 GM | 17 g | 3.2% |
| 9 | Salad dressing, home recipe, vinegar and oilUSDA ingredient 4135 | 0.25 C | 62.5 g | 11.8% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708789, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 193 kcal | 153 kcal | +40 kcal |
| Protein | 6.2 g | 5.8 g | +0.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 18.8 g | 16.7 g | +2.1 g |
| Total fat | 10.4 g | 7 g | +3.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.6 g | 0.5 g | +0.1 g |
| Sodium | 639 mg | 576 mg | +63 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 40 more calories, 2.1 g more carbohydrate, and 3.4 g more total fat than “Tortellini, cheese-filled, with cream sauce.”
Only this record lists Onions, raw; Salad dressing, home recipe, vinegar and oil. Only the comparison record lists Onions, cooked, as ingredient; White sauce or gravy. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Beverages, water, tap, municipal; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Salt, table; and 3 more.
Listed only in this record: Onions, raw; Salad dressing, home recipe, vinegar and oil.
Listed only in the comparison: Onions, cooked, as ingredient; White sauce or gravy.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 169 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (169 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708789 with FDC 2708791 at equal mass; use their 169 g and 250 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708789 versus FDC 2708791 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with vinaigrette dressing” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708789 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with vinaigrette dressing,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708789 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 193 kcal per 100 g becomes 326 kcal at 169 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708789
FNDDS food code: 58134640
The scaling for FDC 2708789 can be exact while the match to “Tortellini, cheese-filled, meatless, with vinaigrette dressing” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 169 g weight, 9-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.