Energy
upper quarter187 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 147 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 126–174 kcal
Based on 60 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 456 calories for 1 cup (244 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 244 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 244 g
456calories
Sweet and sour pork with rice
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 456 calories for 1 cup at 244 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 187 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 23.9 g protein, 1.5 g fiber, and 637 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pork, steak, coated, representing 35.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 16 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706655: “Sweet and sour pork with rice.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706655, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 183 g | 342 kcal | 18 g | 1.1 g | 478 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 244 g | 456 kcal | 23.9 g | 1.5 g | 637 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 305 g | 570 kcal | 29.9 g | 1.8 g | 796 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 60 exact records in the Stir-fry and soy-based sauce mixtures USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706655’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter187 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 60 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half9.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 60 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 60 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half261 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 60 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706655’s 244 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin C29 mg
≈ 32% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron3 mg
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat5.8 g
≈ 29% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium637 mg
≈ 28% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Sweet and sour pork with rice,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706401 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 183–305 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 342 kcal and 570 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 9 g less carbohydrate than “Sweet and sour pork.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 16 input rows; Pork, steak, coated supplies 35.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Sweet and sour pork with rice” fits. Inspect FDC 2706401 when the exact wording “Sweet and sour pork” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSweet and sour pork with rice | 244 g456 kcal | 187 kcal | 9.8 g | 8.8 g | 0.6 g | 261 mg |
| Sweet and sour pork | 170 g442 kcal | 260 kcal | 8.9 g | 13.6 g | 1 g | 304 mg |
| Sweet and sour shrimp | 132 g227 kcal | 172 kcal | 5.9 g | 9.2 g | 0.6 g | 347 mg |
| Beef with sweet and sour sauce | 189 g399 kcal | 211 kcal | 9.3 g | 12.8 g | 0.6 g | 346 mg |
| Sweet and sour chicken or turkey | 189 g473 kcal | 250 kcal | 10.1 g | 12.6 g | 1 g | 246 mg |
| Sweet and sour chicken or turkey, without vegetables | 189 g473 kcal | 250 kcal | 10.1 g | 12.6 g | 1 g | 246 mg |
| Pork or ham with soy-based sauce | 183 g348 kcal | 190 kcal | 14.9 g | 12.7 g | 0.5 g | 341 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706655: its source amount is 244 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706655, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
456 kcal
244 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706655, Vitamin C is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin C
28.5 mg≈ 32% Daily ValueSaturated fat
5.8 g≈ 29% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706655’s 244 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706655 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 23.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706655 at 244 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 244 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 456 kcal 187 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 23.9 g 9.8 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 40.3 g 16.5 g | 15% 6% |
| Total fat | 21.5 g 8.8 g | 28% 11% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.5 g 0.6 g | 5% 2% |
| Sugars | 17.7 g 7.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 636.8 mg 261 mg | 28% 11% |
| Saturated fat | 5.8 g 2.4 g | 29% 12% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 9.3 g 3.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 5 g 2.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 78.1 mg 32 mg | 26% 11% |
| Potassium | 473.4 mg 194 mg | 10% 4% |
| Calcium | 58.6 mg 24 mg | 5% 2% |
| Iron | 2.9 mg 1.2 mg | 16% 7% |
| Magnesium | 39 mg 16 mg | 9% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 28.5 mg 11.7 mg | 32% 13% |
| Vitamin D | 1 µg 0.4 µg | 5% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 7.3 µg 3 µg | 1% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 154.2 g 63.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706655, approximate percentages divide the displayed 244 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706655 to 16 source inputs totaling 1,291.2 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Sweet and sour pork with rice” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pork, steak, coated, Rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cooked, Onions, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
1,291.2 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pork, steak, coatedUSDA ingredient 22201400 | 1 LB | 453.6 g | 35.1% |
| 2 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 2.5 TB | 35 g | 2.7% |
| 3 | Garlic, rawUSDA ingredient 11215 · encyclopedia page available | 1 | 3 g | 0.2% |
| 4 | Pineapple, rawUSDA ingredient 9266 · encyclopedia page available | 113 GM | 113 g | 8.8% |
| 5 | Flour, potatoUSDA ingredient 11413 | 2 TS | 7.5 g | 0.6% |
| 6 | Beverages, water, tap, municipalUSDA ingredient 14429 · encyclopedia page available | 4 TB | 59.3 g | 4.6% |
| 7 | Pineapple juice, canned or bottled, unsweetened, with added ascorbic acidUSDA ingredient 9409 | 62 GM | 62 g | 4.8% |
| 8 | Vinegar, ciderUSDA ingredient 2048 · encyclopedia page available | 45 GM | 45 g | 3.5% |
| 9 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 4 TB | 50 g | 3.9% |
| 10 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.25 TS | 1.5 g | 0.1% |
| 11 | Soy sauce made from soy and wheat (shoyu)USDA ingredient 16123 · encyclopedia page available | 10.6 GM | 10.6 g | 0.8% |
| 12 | CatsupUSDA ingredient 11935 · encyclopedia page available | 2 TB | 34 g | 2.6% |
| 13 | Sauce, worcestershireUSDA ingredient 6971 · encyclopedia page available | 8.59 GM | 8.6 g | 0.7% |
| 14 | Onions, cooked, boiled, drained, without saltUSDA ingredient 11283 · encyclopedia page available | 1 | 125 g | 9.7% |
| 15 | Peppers, sweet, green, cooked, boiled, drained, without saltUSDA ingredient 11334 · encyclopedia page available | 1 | 73 g | 5.7% |
| 16 | Rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cookedUSDA ingredient 20045 · encyclopedia page available | 1.33 C | 210.1 g | 16.3% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706655, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Stir-fry and soy-based sauce mixtures” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 187 kcal | 260 kcal | −73 kcal |
| Protein | 9.8 g | 8.9 g | +0.9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 16.5 g | 25.5 g | −9 g |
| Total fat | 8.8 g | 13.6 g | −4.8 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.6 g | 1 g | −0.4 g |
| Sodium | 261 mg | 304 mg | −43 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 73 less calories, 9 g less carbohydrate, and 4.8 g less total fat than “Sweet and sour pork.”
Only this record lists Pork, steak, coated; Vegetable oil, NFS; Garlic, raw; Pineapple, raw. Only the comparison record lists Restaurant, Chinese, sweet and sour pork. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Pork, steak, coated; Vegetable oil, NFS; Garlic, raw; Pineapple, raw; and 12 more.
Listed only in the comparison: Restaurant, Chinese, sweet and sour pork.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 244 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (244 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 170 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (226 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706655 with FDC 2706401 at equal mass; use their 244 g and 170 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706655 versus FDC 2706401 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full stir-fry and soy-based sauce mixtures source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, recipe and ingredient ratios, added cooking fat, sauces and toppings.
For “Sweet and sour pork with rice,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706655 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 187 kcal per 100 g becomes 456 kcal at 244 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706655
FNDDS food code: 27320500
The scaling for FDC 2706655 can be exact while the match to “Sweet and sour pork with rice” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 244 g weight, 16-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.